Index of Captions for Images in South River Historical & Preservation Society Historical Calendars

1991 - 2017, 2019 - 2020
Information in curly brackets { } represents corrections to the text that was printed in the calendar.


January: The Old School Baptist Church built in 1785. It is now the Borough Clerk's Office. Picture taken in 1894.
February: Washington Hotel on Main Street, it was located where Z & Z Building Supply is now. 1894.
March: Lower Main Street near Obert Street looking down towards the river. Note the ships masts by the dock at the end of Main Street. 1906.
April: Alois Bohi residence on the corner of Whitehead Avenue and Martin Street. The house is now the residence of Matthew Maliszewski. 1905.
May: The Public School on Thomas Street. 1896.
June: John Whitehead's Store on the corner of Main Street and Obert Street. It's now Duschock's Drug Store. 1901.
July: Jack Levinson's store on Main Street, to the right of Central Jersey Bank & Trust Co. Later it became Robin's Department Store. 1900.
August: The Summer Trolley coming down Main Street. Note the towns listed on the trolley sign. 1902.
September: The Loading Dock at the foot of Main Street. The building by the dock is Andrew Church's Feed and Grain Store. Laffin's car showroom and office occupy the building now. 1906.
October: A view of Booraem & Sons Ship Yard at the bend on Reid Street. To the upper left is one of the drying sheds of John Whitehead's Brick Yard. 1900.
November: The "Jug" the First Jail in South River, located on Water Street between Main Street and Klauser Lane. 1905.
December: St. Mary's Church on Jackson Street and Whitehead Avenue. At the time it was only one level. 1906. 


January: "The Castle", corner of Jackson and Water Streets (the area was known as Brown's Corner). The home was occupied solely by the Martin and Brown families. Sadly, in December 1965, "The Castle" was demolished and the Pulawski Savings and Loan Association building was erected. 1890's
February: 1890's Riverview of the docks. The 3-story building is Andrew Church's feed and grain store located along the river, near Main Street. The pavilion-like structure, to the left, stands on Water Street near Main Street. Further down is the Klauser Hotel located on the corner of Klauser Lane and Water Street. The buildings at the far left are on the old Causeway. Early 1890's.
March: Main Street. Looking up at the right side is A.C. Price's store and residence (note the 3 pigs hanging near the roadway in the front of the store). The Methodist Church is at the left side of the street on the corner of Main and Gordon Streets. November: 1898
April: St. Peter and Paul Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic Church. Built in the fall of 1905 and dedicated in early 1906. Built by Mr. Squire of Old Bridge, under the guidance of Father Hotovitsky. On June: 12, 1916, lightning struck the church setting it afire. Repairs were made as were plans for a new church to be built. May: 1906
May: Klauser's Hotel, Klauser Lane and Water Street, proprietor Ambrose Klauser. The people in the picture seated from the left: Ann Klauser Bissett, Susie Klauser, Pauline Mark Klauser, Elizabeth Klauser Booraem, Elwood Serviss, Conrad Mark Sr. Standing from left: Henry Smalley, Amelia Klauser Serviss, Ella and Mary Hedges, Ira Parkinson, two unidentified bricklayers and Ben Mark. The two boys are Joseph Nicaise and Conrad Mark Jr. The building was destroyed by fire in 1967. May: 8, 1907
June: Ferry Street looking towards Main Street. On the left side at the corner of Ferry and Washington Streets is John Fee Jr. Wine and Liquor Store. Across the street from Fee's is John Whiteman's Department Store. At the end of the street is Jacob Levinson's store on Main Street (Robin's Department Store came later). 1909
July: The Main Street Fire of 1908. The buildings which burned were James Bissett's residence (Lee's Auto Parts and Becker's newsstand), Schroeder's Building (Showcase of Homes Realty), the Knapp Building (System Machines), Citizen's Hall Building (Ram's Head Tavern), and a large portion of the bowling alley behind the Washington Hotel (Z&Z Building Supply). The view after the fire is from Washington Street looking towards Main Street. Some names of present-day businesses are listed in parentheses to show where the buildings burned down. July: 10, 1908.
August: The Manahan Hotel, Proprietor Charles H. Manahan, located on the triangle at the top of Main Street and Old Bridge Turnpike road. The Crestwood Diner and a gas station are now at that location. 1900.
September: The first Bank in South River was on the corner of Main and Reid Streets. Built in 1902, it would remain at this location until 1917 when a larger bank was built, at the corner of Main and Stephen Streets. To the left of the bank is the American House, who's proprietor was George Allgair. 1905.
October: Washington Street from the corner of Ferry Street. The people are standing in front of Randolph Brandt's house (note the oil lamp on the corner). Further up the street is the Van Norden House. 1890's.
November: Main Street, looking up from Ferry Street. At left is the Washington Hotel. The next building is the Citizen's Hall building (peaked roof). At the right is the East Brunswick Hotel. The corner of the East Brunswick Hotel is a driveway to the stables behind the hotel. 1905.
December: This is a view of Clayton and Pierson's Lumber Co. on Willet Avenue above the railroad tracks, alongside Washington Monumental Cemetery. On May: 25, 1897, a fire completely destroyed the lumber yard. About 1895. 


January: R.V.D. Reid took this picture of Main Street while standing by Ferry Street. It was the worst snowstorm to hit the area since the blizzard of 1888. Drifts of three to four feet caused schools and factories to close for three days. February: 15, 1899.
February: This Victorian home located at 173 Main Street was built by David Serviss, a prominent resident. The house is now brick veneered and is owned by Pamela May:erowitz. 1898.
March: Herrmann Avenue at the turn of the century. These row houses were owned by the Herrmann and Aukman Handkerchief factory and were rented to company employees. 1900.
April: Cemetary Avenue - now called Hillside Avenue. The picture was taken midway from Main Street heading towards Willet Avenue. The row of houses on the right are still there, and the two houses on the left are on the corner of Ford Street. 1901.
May: The Holy Trinity Episcopal Church. Originally built in Sayreville in 1861, the church, upon consent of the founding parish, the Christ Church of South Amboy, was moved to South River in 1867. The building was dismantled, placed upon a barge and floated across the river to the corner of Whitehead Avenue and Martin Street on land donated by Captain Daniel Martin. In 1967 the church was sold and is now known as the Burning Bush of God in Christ. 1900.
June: Whitehead Avenue - looking from Willett Lane towards Jackson Street. The large house on the left belonged to Samuel Whitehead and is currently the Maliszewski Funeral Home. Situated on the corner of Whitehead Avenue and Elizabeth Street, the first house on the right was formerly Elwood Serviss's residence. It's now the home of Max and Carrie Hill. The steeple of the Holy Trinity Church is in view as is the Willett House, the three-story building at the far end of the road. 1898.
July: The North American Pyrogranit Company. This brick-producing company was located along the Old Bridge Turnpike towards the end of lower William Street. It began operations in 1891 and closed in 1908. 1897.
August: The Klauser Building, corner of Ferry and Washington Streets was built in 1901 by Pauline and Ambrose Klauser, owners of the South River Hotel (Klauser's Hotel). In early years the top floor was known for its many social functions, especially the Annuel Martha Washington Costume Ball. Held each year on February 22, the ball was sponsored by the Martha Washington Society, a group promoting social activities establishing health benefits for its members. 1902.
September: Obert Street - looking from Jackson Street towards Main Street. The rail track at the bottom of the picture is from the Willet and Yates Brick Yards. 1898.
October: The Willet House, located on the corner of Ferry Street and Klauser Lane. The Willet House was built by Theodore S. Willet in the late 1800's, the back attachment was added in 1898. Unfortunately, the house was destroyed by fire in 1983. At right is the old Brown-Martin residence, currently the site of The Pulawski Savings Bank. 1899.
November: RRRR Depot and Hermann and Aukman Handkerchief Factory. The small shed in the center of the picture was used by the railroad crossing guard. Across Whitehead Avenue lies the railroad passenger station while further down the tracks sits the freight station. The large building behind these three is the Handkerchief Factory. Most of these buildings were destroyed in a large fire in October of 1969. 1903.
December: W.F. Gildersleeve Residence - Whitehead Avenue. This house was purchased by the Polish Catholic Church and converted into a convent for the Felician Sisters of Lodi. Resold in 1924, the house is now privately owned by Felix Trojnowski and contains Mike's Barber Shop in the front of the building. 1901. 


January: Whitehead Millinery, Dry & Fancy Goods on the corner of Whitehead Avenue and Willett Lane. The building is now a two-family house. 1896.
February: Sleet Storm. 1902.
March: F.W. Bissett "Drugs and Medicines" located on Ferry Street, is now the present site of the Grand Hotel.
April: Laying the Trolley tracks on Main Street. The trolley ran from Milltown down Main Street, South River, into South Amboy. Trolley service was discontinued in 1930 and the tracks were dug up during World War II to be used in the War effort. 1895.
May: Sailboat on railway. Photographed at the Jonathan Booraem Shipyards on Reid Street on the South River. 1900.
June: "The Prof. Amada". All dressed up for a Sunday boat ride upstream on the South River. 1902.
July: Elbert C. Pierson House located on the corner of Main and Pierson Street, for many years owned and occupied by the J. Randolph Appleby Jr. family.
August: Washington Park, a popular spot for band concerts, dances and picnics. It was located at the corner of Main and DeVoe Streets, properties now owned by Edward Birnn and the South River Elks.
September: Bricks drying at the John Whitehead Brickyard. 1895.
October: The German Presbyterian Church at 74 Washington Street was built in 1894. IN 1963 the congregation moved to East Brunswick and the property was sold to the Union Baptist Church. 1900.
November: South River's first firehouse, headquarters for the Washington Fire Company. Was located on Ferry Street. It was destroyed by fire in 1971.
December: The American Hotel located on the Corner of Reid and Main Streets. Built, owned and operated by George Allgair. The original building, the Steamboat Inn, was destroyed by fire and rebuilt as the American Hotel in 1897. 1904. 


January: Lower Main Street residence of James Bissett, first May:or of South River. 1898. This house was destroyed during the famous "Schroeders Fire" in 1908.
February: Forman C. Bissett's Raritan River Railroad Hotel on Whitehead Avenue. 1901.
March: Bernard Jacquart purchased the "Hardenbrook" plot at 222 Main Street from John Whitehead and built this handsome residence in the early 1900s for $4,000.00. 1905.
April: Edward Splatter's store at the corner of Obert and Jackson Streets. 1901. Blanche and Joseph (Smacker) Sokolowski owned and operated Smackers Bar here for many years.
May: Residence of the Radcliffe family, located adjacent to the Post Office on Obert Street. 1906.
June: Site of John Whitehead's store at 50 Main Street after the fire of 1901. The medallion at the top of the building now on this site indicates that it was rebuilt in 1902. For many years it was occupied by Hansen's Danish Bakery; we know it today as Clementi's.
July: The C.M. Sheppard residence at 236 Main Street. 1905. It is now owned by Jean and Donald Leonard.
August: The Asher W. Bissett residence decorated for the 200th Anniversary celebration in 1920. This house, located at the corner of Jackson Street and Whitehead Ave, has since been turned and moved to face Whitehead Avenue, directly opposite Saint Mary's Church. 1920.
September: The Queen and her Court from the 200th Anniversary Parade in 1920. Eva C. Bissett, daughter of Forman C. Bissett, reigned as "Queen Rivera" during the week-long celebration. Two of her attendants were Constance Freehan and Mary Rhatican. The handsome page at the lower right was Kermit (Curley) DeVoe.
October: Aunt Becky Peterson's residence at 179 Main Street - next to Main Street Florist & Gifts. 1899.
November: View up Martin Avenue from Water Street toward Whitehead Avenue. The steeple in the background was on the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, now the Burning Bush Church of God.
December: View of Monumental Cemetery with the Poole Family plot in foreground. 1899. 


January: South River Borough Hall. Erected in 1908, it was headquarters for both the Police and Fire Departments as well as other Borough departments. The fire trucks exited from the doors at the left, under the South River Fire Department sign. The sign above the front door indicates that the upper story was the site of the Star Theatre (nickelodeon).
February: View of Levinson Avenue from Whitehead Avenue.
March: Pictured at the corner of Main and Gordon Streets are the Methodist Episcopal Church (now Conklin Methodist Church) and the residence of George P. Farr. 1897. The church was replaced in 1941 by the present brick colonial edifice. The Victorian house is now the residence of Doris Doeler Booraem.
April: Charles Herrmann sold furniture from the second story of his general store on the northwest corner of Main and Thomas Streets. It was destroyed by fire. The present building, once occupied by Trzaska's Department Store, Capitol Shoe Store, and the International Ladies Garment Workers Union, is now occupied by System Office Products and Central Jersey Medical Group.
May: The harness shop of Gustav Wall on Reid Street. 1896.
June: This house on Reid Street, which still stands today, was he residence of George Allgair, grandfather of Mary Allgair Weis and Dr. William A. Allgair. 1899.
July: The annual Carnival on the banks of the South River brought out sailing vessels like the "Inez & May:", shown here and decorated for the occasion. The owner and captain are unknown. 1900.
August: The Miller Family by their homestead at the Miller Brickyard on William Street. 1898. Now owned by the Toths and Krimins.
September: One of the many sloops and schooners that sailed the South River, the Schooner "Extra" is shown bound up the river. 1895. Owned by Quinn & Daily, the vessel's master was Peter Cassidy. From 1800 until the close of the era of commercial Sailing boats in 1920, at least one hundred ships owned by local residents sailed the South River.
October: Farley Tavern on the corner of Ferry Street and Klauser Lane. Pictured behind the bar, left to right, are Patrick Farley and Jim Farley. 1890s.
November: View of Stephen Street from George Street. The two houses on the left belonged to Harry and Amelia Whitehead, and James D. Van Zandt. The building in the background, facing Stephen Street, is on Reid Street and was the residence of Will Serviss and family, descendants of Samuel Willett. 1895. Congregation Anshe Emeth later bought the Serviss property, and the building served as the Jewish Community Center until 1954. Moose Lodge #165 is presently located on this site.
December: The William H. Thoburn residence stood on the corner of Main and Thomas Streets, the present site of Boyt's Pharmacy. Visible to the rear is the present Middle School. 1897. The house was eventually moved, and it stands today at the rear of 17 Thomas Street which is on the northwest side of the street. The two porches are gone, but the house is easily recognizable by the roof design. 


January: Lincoln School, Prospect Street, circa 1945.
February: William Campbell School, David Street, circa 1929.
March: Willett School, Charles Street, 1996.
April: Old High School, Thomas Street, circa 1932.
May: New High School, Montgomery Street, 1961.
June: St. Mary's School, Jackson Street, 1995.
July: Corpus Christi School, David Street, circa 1962
August: [Main Street] - The building with the front porch in front of the car on the right was a Public School on Main Street from 1838 to 1885. It was demolished in 1932 and is now the location of the Ben Franklin Store.
September: Campbell School Flower Show. Pictured are, 1st row: Larry Osterberg, Tom McKeon, John Lukiewicz, ?, Michael Wenger, Peter Krosnowski, Robert Oswald, ?, Ronald Dominiecki, ?, Paula Krug; 2nd row: Kenny Russell, ?, Winnie Wedemeyer, Robert Muscle, Dolores Roginski, Phyllis Giera, Shirley Pychevicz, Charlotte Zelanko, 3rd row: Alice Jensen, Sandra Clark, Andrew Barrows, Roger Sieber, Carol Dohm and Dolores Stasienko. 1950.
October: Lincoln School Kindergarten - Mrs. Sue Wagner's class 1947-48. Front row, left to right: Barbara Smutko, ?, Beverly Thomas, James Dey, Judith Ternyila, Priscilla Geer, Alex Texowitz, Charlotte Brilla, Joan Tomari, Lisa Kleinberg; Back row, left to right: Vincent Macaro, James Eppinger, Emily Varga, Lois Forrar, Alice Fehrer, Louis Fitzpatrick, Doris Miller, Joyce Funk, Barbara Szarka, Jacqueline Stepko, Dorothy Hencz, Francis Dincuff, Stephen Kerekes, Teacher Sue Wagner.
November: Superintendent, faculty, parents and friends reviewing Lincoln School Christmas Program in the Old High School Auditorium (Middle School Auditorium today). George Kraus, music teacher, playing accordion.
December: Members of the Elementary Schools Safety Patrol with Captain John Quinn. In the background are teacher Mary Riddle Thompson, 4th from L., Cam Principal, Joseph Hollfelder, center, teacher Mildred McCormick, 4th from R., and Lincoln Principal, Martha Smith, 2nd from R. If anyone can identify any of the students, please advise the South River Historical and Preservation Society. 


January: Rockshine and Luithardt Store on the corner of Main and Thomas Street (across from Boyt's). Mr. Luithardt is on the left and Mr. Rockshine is on the right.
February: Cassimere Offenburger and his wife Katherine are pictured in front of their confectionary store on Ferry Street in the early 1900's. They were the parents of Constable Cassimere Offenburger, who was actually the first Police chief of South River. Notice the Halloween masks.
March: Looking up the hill from downtown, this is a scene at the intersection of Jackson and Main Streets. On the left is a portion of the Tabernacle Baptist Church built in 1907, replacing the original wood frame structure built in 1871. It is still in use today, although the main sanctuary is located directly across Jackson Street. Also pictured are the former homes of Charles Booraem, James Borinson and William White. Notice the traffic light on the corner of Virginia Street to the right. Notice all the traffic!!!!!
April: Willett Sisters of South River. These mid-nineteenth century oil paintings of the Willett Sisters of South River were obtained from an antique dealer in Maine by the South River Historical & Preservation Society, Inc. Although we do not know who these girls are, there is some speculation that they might be Emelie (left), born 1824, and Louise (right), born 1828. If this should be proven correct, they are buried in Monumental Cemetery. The paintings are currently on display in the South River Public Library.
May: This is the old Post Office on Main Street. A fire destroyed the building in 1908. It is the present location of Domino's Pizza.
June: This is a view of Prospect Street at the bend looking eastward, November 21, 1898.
July: Trolley car approaching South River via the Causeway during a flood in early 1900's.
August: The bridge pictured above was built in 1914 to replace the original bridge that was built in 1860 by Daniel B. Martin and Zenas VanDeventer. It was demolished in 1974 shortly after the opening of the Veterans' Bridge which links Main Street in South River to Washington Road in Sayreville.
September: A portion of the First National Bank is pictured on the left. The old wood building on the opposite corner was replaced by a new dwelling later occupied by Harry Rosenthal's Haberdashery & Department Store. Cocktails & Dance now occupies the location. Adjacent to the old wood building was the luncheonette known as Quick Lunch. Just barely visible is Miss McNulty's Fashionable Hat Store.
October: Horse and buggy pictured at Miller's Brickyard near the Eating Shanty at the turn of the century. It was used for local trips in and around the brickyard. A coach with a team of white horses was used for longer trips to Sayreville and New Brunswick.
November: The residence of Samuel Gordon on Whitehead Ave. adjacent to St. Mary's Church. The photo was taken at the turn of the century. Note kerosene streetlamp in front of the house. Home was torn down and is site of St. Mary's parking lot.
December: Old School Baptist Church Cemetery. TO JANE THE WIFE OF MY YOUTH AGED 42 YEARS AUGUST:16, 1832. In a prominent location in the Old School Baptist Church Cemetery is a beautiful urn monument, designed and sculpted by JOHN FRAZEE. It was erected to the memory of Frazee's wife, who died on August 16, 1832, during a cholera epidemic. This monument has been described by Dr. Frederick Stohlman, Administrator of the Art and Archeology Department at Princeton University, as the most beautiful and most classical monument of its kind in the USA. In the early 1940's, Dr. Stohlman, at his own expense, had an iron fence built around the monument to preserve this work of art. New Jersey-born John Frazee is noted for his post-mortem memorial likeness of John Wells, dated 1824, that was placed in St. Paul's Church, NY. This is the first marble bust carved in this country by an American-born sculptor. Frazee also designed the New York City Customs House built between 1834 and 1837 which now serves as a museum. 


January: The Mayor, Borough Council and Town Officials are shown in the Council Chambers at the Borough Hall on January 1, 1927. Left: Councilmen Joseph A. Regleski, Herman Mark, Asher W. Bissett. In rear: John Van Norden, Recorder; August Nuss, Collector; George L. Burton, Attorney; William A. Allgair, May:or; John R. Petrie, Clerk; I. Levy, Overseer of the Poor; Charles A. Eberwein, Chief of Police. Right: Councilmen Andrew Neilson, Thomas Pender, Herbert Wood (not in order).
February: The Martha Washington Kranken Interstutzung Verein - In 1877 a number of men of German descent organized The Washington K.U.V., not only for social purposes but as a benefit society. Kranken Interstutzung Verein (K.U.V.) when translated means "A Sick and Death Benefit Society". - Not to be outdone, their wives and other German women, some from nearby villages, organized their own group, The Martha Washington K.U.V. in 1899. This photo of the ladies was taken about 1904 at Klauser's Hall in the South River Hotel on Water Street. Besides benefit programs, the Martha Washington Ball was held there every year on February 22 and was attended by young and old alike. In later years the Ball was held at the Klauser Building on Ferry Street. Because of a lack of interest on the part of young German girls, the Society was disbanded in 1924. - Front row: Pauline Mark Klauser, Suzanne Klauser, Elizabeth Klauser Booraem; the little girl with white bows is Eva C. Bissett who became "Queen Riverie" in 1920 during the 200th Celebration of South River. Second row: (Lady back of child) Mrs. Theresa Mark, Carrie Klauser Bissett, ?, Amelia Klauser Serviss. Top row: (Lady in v-collar) Anna Klauser Bissett.
March: Knights of Columbus on their annual march throught town, circa 1940. Notice Joseph Hollfelder and Charles Thomas in foreground and John Fitzpatrick and Matthew Maliszewski in background. How many other people can you identify?
April: This 1910 phot shows the members of Sts. Peter and Paul Russian Orthodox Church on their annual march to the cemetery on the first Sunday after Easter. In the background is the old church which was built in 1905, struck by lightning in 1916, and replaced by the present day church on Whitehead Avenue.
May: The Nonpareil Club - After the merger of the Library Fife & Drum Corps and the Alley Fife & Drum Corps, and after members drifted away to other activities, the remaining members formed a social club. Men from all walks of life were invited to join. About 1900, the Nonpareil Club (i.e., without equal, peerless) was organized. - The above photo was taken prior to 1912 at their second meeting place, the Herrmann homestead on lower Main Street. About that time the former David Serviss homestead on Main Street (below Main Street Florist) was purchased as a permanent home. After World War I membership declined, and the Club was disbanded in 1932. - Bottom row: John Petrie. ?, ?, Charles Freehan, Adam Freehan, Edward W. Price, Sr., Carl Sutter, ?, William Armstrong, William A. Allgair. Second row: Joseph Lunepp, George Applegate, Jr., Forman C. Bissett, Asher W. Bissett, ?, John Fee, Sr., Samuel Stevens, Walter Sennhauser, Sr., William Kline, Thomas E. Dolan. Third row: Frank Armstrong, ?, ?, Raymond D. Booraem, Sr., Alois Bohi, Harold R. Armstrong, Sr., Milton Simmons, ?, Joseph C. Bissett, Orville S. Barkelew, ?, ?, John Fee, Jr., Milton Whitehead, ?, August Masur, ?, Charles Sontag, Russell Whitehead, ?, ?, James Robinson, David Armstrong. Top row: John Weck, John Allgair, ?, ?, Adolph Greenfield, Sewell Cathcart, William Morgan, Joseph Cathcart, Charles Hermann, Edward Whitehead, Louis Breuer, Charles Jacquart, Joseph Hirschman, ?, John Myslicavan. Sitting on the stair railing: Joseph Mark (not the May:or).
June: The Silver Star Club - In 1901 fifteen young ladies, daughters of families who were anxious to enjoy a rich social life, organized The Silver Star Club. Social functions, such as the Annual Ball, and many charitable affairs were held until "Wedding bells broke up that old club of mine." The last remaining member, Elizabeth Klauser, died in 1988 at the age of 104 years. Front left (on floor): Elizabeth Klauser Booraem. Second row: (Third from left) Florence Levinson, Kathryn Roller Whitehead (seated in chair), Gladys Booraem. Top row: (third from left) Blanche Brant Smith. Pictured also are: Beatrice Stults, Agnes Serviss Van Deventer, Arline Morgan, Annie Vliet, Lottie Miller Whitehead Dey, Edna Matthews, Stella Seager, Kathryn French, Alice Johnson, Leah Herrmann Netzorg.
July: Jack' Ranch Championship Team 1931 - Top row, left to right: Bill Wilcynski, Pete Mordas, Joe Mrozek, Pete Sivess, Al Konopka, Chet Sosnowski, Dusty Dietrick. Center row, left to right: Manager Jack Sokolowski, John Wenzel, Joe Dietrick, Zigmond Miklezewski. Bottom row, left to right: Ed Narkiewicz, Pete Pasternak, Whitey Lukivich, Herb Blakeny, Monk Bankovich, Joe Shaluha, Al Kasper.
August: St. Mary's Bowling League at Duttkin's Bowling Alley - First row, 1-19: 1 Stanley Pawlowski, 2 Walter Smolinski, 3 ?, 4 Pete Pasternak, 5 Stanley Brylinski, 6 Joseph Smith, 7 ?, 8 ?, 9 Ed Skifski, 10 - Marcinak, 11 Norm Miglin, 12 ?, 13 Alfred Lanuto, 14 ?, 15 Ben Beliski, 16 Ed Malinowski, 17 Lee Litwinski, 18 John Giera, 19 John Wolinne. Second row, 20-36: 20 Leon Kalisin, 21 Stanley Kulik, 22 Otto Blaszka, 23 Leo Florek, 24 Walter Paul, 25 Walter Ferrence, 26 ?, 27 Fred -, 28, Andy Bodak, 29, Ed Kelly, 30, Walter Bystrek, 31 ?, 32?, 33 - Modzelewski, 34 Walter Kulik, 35 Joe Gromboutz, 36 Stan Zisk. Third row, 37-50: 37 Leon Adamsky, 38 George Sichta, 39 Walter Grekowski, 40, Fred Rusay, 41 Pete Pasternak Sr., 42 Vito Christiano, 43 Father John Skwira, 44 Peter Szymanski, 45 Andy Soboleski, 46 - Krzyzkowski, 47 Marty Grodski, 48 Henry Piskadlo, 49 Gene Urbanik, 50 Joe Mizicka.
September: The Lincoln School Band under the Direction of George Krauss, circa 1951 - Back row, left to right: Joseph Kramley, Francis Dincuff, LeRoy Frenzel, John Patrick, Alex Tekowitz, William Reinson, Ben Parillo, ?, Theresa Maxien. Middle row, left to right: Mary Ann Genard, Charlotte Brilla, Joyce Bodnar, Penny Tekowitz, Catherine Maxien, JoAnn Fekete, Barbara Kanc, Ann Kaczorowski, Alice Fehrer, Mary Ann Weiss, Joyce Funk, Barbara Szarka, Jacqueline Quinn, Alex Kosa, Diane Van Cleaf, Frank Kosa. Front row, left to right: Joyce Knoblock, Natalie Londensky, Anna Bodka, Patricia Fekete, Doris Miller, Pricilla Geer.
October: This is a 1952 picture of the Midget Basketball League of the South River Recreation Program affiliated with the C.Y.O. of St. Stephen the Protomartyr Church. This group played in the gym at Campbell School. Back row, left to right: Bo Becza, Joseph Kovach, John Knoblock, Steve Molle, Father Poor, James Kane, Michael Schmidt, Steve Toth, Joseph Bodnar. Front row, left to right: Robert Bodnar, James Vislosky, Frank Reinson.
November: The Young Adult Choir of the Union Baptist Church in 1967. Back row, left to right: James Worde, Organist; Anne Kenny, Director; Rosemary Crowell; Rev. H.O. Williams, Pastor; Shirley Peteet, Kenneth Hill, Carl Hill. Front row, left to right: Deborah Johnson Harris, Beatrice Lamb Thomas, Sandra Pearson Hill.
December: The children from Lincoln School, circa 1951, with a representative from the Acme Supermarket upon successfully saving enough register receipts to receive a free television for the school. Front row, left to right: Janice Hode, Joseph Ivan, Louis Fehrer, Alan Frey, ?, Diane Kittstein, Bonnie Bagamary, Barbara Laumark, Mary Ann Weiss. Back row, left to right: Acme representative, ?, Wayne Schorpp, Robert Petersen. 


Cover: Old School Baptist Church
January: Aerial View of South River in the Early 1950's. South River is written on the roof of the Capitol Theater. View begins at Main and Thomas Streets and continues down Main Street to the river. The cars are parked in the First National Bank parking lot.
February: South River Fire Department Hook and Ladder Company in front of the Van Norden House, Washington Street, 1898. Pictured from left to right: George Gordon, ?, Peter Johnson, Ziggy Herzog, ?, ?, Peter Cassidy, John French, Casmer Offenburger, Harry Cole, ?, John Journee, Charles Freehan, Charles Coombs, Edward Smith.
March: View of Lower Main Street at the Docks, 1905. In the foreground is a barge loaded with bricks. In the background the tall three-story building is the Andrew Church Feed and Grain Co. (now the Laffin Building).
April: Tree planting ceremony April 17, 1976, on the South River High School grounds in honor of the bicentennial of our country. In the background, on the right, is Campbell School. In the front row are: Glenn Berman in the light suit, Al Losiewicz, principal, and Charles Mannino, Mayor. To the left are the South River firemen. To the right are members of the Moose.
May: Members of the Imperial Band of South River are holding ground-breaking ceremonies for the Imperial Music Center on Appleby Ave. April 19, 1967. Doing the shoveling is May:or Robert Eastman as band members play ground-breaking music. Pictured front row left to right: Charles Krauss, George Krauss, Eastman, Ted Kadela, Ralph Stochel, Frank Milano, Joseph Milano. Picutred back row left to right: Frank Grekoski, Jerry Pollock, Charles Stochel and George Lonczak. All equipment for excavating and leveling was doanted by rank Grekoski of the Polaris Construction Company of South River.
June: Ferry Street Flood Looking Toward Jackson Street - On the left is Charles Eberwein Boots and Shoe Maker Store and farther down the street is Mark's Shoe Store. In the background is the steeple of the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church on Whitehead Ave.
July: Church ceremony in front of Sts. Peter and Paul Russian Orthodix Church on Whitehead Ave. showing support for the war effort during World War I, circa 1918. Notice the American and Russian flags and the banner on the church which reads: "Might is Right - Despotism and barbarism - That is what the despotic German Government is fighting for." "Right is Might - Freedom of Human Life - that is what the noble independent country of the U.S. is fighting for."
August: Zdrodowski Grocery and Meat Market on Charles Street across from Willett School Early 1920's - Child pictured on the steps of the house is Adam Zdrodowski, son of the proprietor. In front of the store, left to right: top row - John Zdrodowski, proprietor and Valenti Zdrodowski, John's brother; bottom row Michael Losiewicz, John's nephew, and Benjamin Traszka, a friend of the Zdrodowski family, and for many years the truant officer for the South River Public Schools.
September: A group of young people getting ready for a horse show pictured in front of the Kuberski stables on Jackson Street at the corner of Radcliffe Street, circa 1950. The stable moved to Whitehead Ave. in 1952. Some of the people pictured from left to right are: first - Leonard Kuberski, fourth and tenth - the Grossman boys and eighth - Mary Ann Stewart.
October: Milton Magaw, (left) and Leonard Kuberski, (right) are introducing Freddie the Ram, mascot of South River High School in 1958. Freddie, named in honor of Fred Williams, principal, was housed and cared for by the Kuberski Stables on Whitehead Ave. and was brought to all football games.
November: 1930 South River High School Football Squad - Pictured left to right: bottom row - Konapacki, Kondratyk, Betza, Latzo, Magee, Lukach, Zuke, Dayton, Wladyka; second row - Chando, Ball, Quinn, P. Alexionok, S. Alexionok, P. Sivess, Opaleski, Sudnikovich, Zyskowski, Oranol, Palomba; third row - Denny, Wilde, Sula, S. Wojciekowicz, A. Wojciechowicz, Drucker, Greenfield, Indrickson, Lemerich, Christ, Paprota, Asst. Manager; top row - A. Pringle, Clark, Cackowski, Pringle, Pavlowski, Steve, Hunt, Appleby, Bartz.
December: The sign reads. "The Union Hotel, the Home Brew'g Co's Extra Beer," G. Fehrle proprietor. It was located at the lower end of Main Street next to the Grand Hotel. The proprietor G. Fehrle is the third person from the left.


Cover: Dedication of the restored Old School Baptist Church, September 12, 1999
January: The 1933 Faculty and Staff of South River High School - This picture was taken on the steps of the High School on Thomas Street. Pictured left to right - Front row: Elsie Fulboam, Mary Smith Franklin, Anne Floden, Wilbur Bryan, William Lesh, Grace Newman, Mabel Kelley, Mary Paluso Small; Second row: Harry Froude, Michael Schack, Ethel Stevens Lamm, Leona Luker Hankinson (secretary), Loretta Kennedy, Estelle Van Hise (secretary), Frances Hollfelder Murphy, Evelyn G. Armstrong Mark, Joseph Mazza, Wilbur Hankinson; Third row: Fred Williams, Joseph Vail, Thomas Zehner, Romaine Button, James Lynch, Kenneth Hemmerly; Top row: John Fitzpatrick, John Shay, William Denny, Joseph Hollfelder, Thomas Hall, Theodore Sivess. Not pictured: Elizabeth Hine Prentice and Ellen Miller Shay.
February: Dailey's Pond over the Years - This shows Dailey's Pond as it was used over the years - first commercially as an ice pond used by Abraham Barkelew who operated an ice house (ice house pictured next to tree across the pond), May: 23, 1895 (top photo). In the early part of the 1900's up to the 1950's and 60's it was used as a recreational area. Pictured ice skating in the middle row left to right are Frank Scupp, Mary Hode Wrobel, and Katherine Scupp. It was used for swimming. Pictured bottom row left to right are the wooden raft that was pushed into the center of the pond to be used as a diving board and Helen and Gary Scupp on the beach (note the lifeguard stand in the background). The third picture in the bottom row shows Alvar Ginnman and Frank Scupp building a training course for the high school students used during wartime (circa 1940's). The building to the left is the pavilion. Note skaters on the pond and Lincoln School in the background.
March: Greenfield's General Merchandise Store, March 3, 1883 - This store was located at the corner of Main and Ferry Streets. It was owned by Louis Greenfield. Louis left South River and turned the store over to his younger brother Samuel who operated it for many years. When Samuel retired, his son Bernard operated the store until it closed.
April: Serviss Home, Whitehead Avenue and Elizabeth Street - Pictured above is the newly built home of Elwood Serviss and his wife, Amelia Klauser Serviss. It was erected in the late 1800's and is located at 183 Whitehead Avenue. Mr. Serviss built the left and right wings of the South River High School on Thomas Street, later the Middle School. The house, located on the corner of Whitehead Avenue and Elizabeth Street, is presently owned by the Hill Family.
May: William Campbell School P.T.A., Early 1950's - A reception was given by the Campbell School P.T.A. members awarding life membership to Louise Sieber and Dorothy Clark. Pictured, left to right-Back row: Agnes Doran, Mary Stroumtsos, Mary Meisel, Elizabeth Evaul, Vicki Magaw, Ruth Golden, ?, Nellie McCormick, ?, Marie Gray, ?, Mary Gerstenacker, Amelia Geiger; Front row: Corinne Cebula, Elsie Berman, Louis Sieber, Dorothy Clark, ?, Marie Pawlowski, Florence McGuire, Tenny Strugala.
June: Blacksmith and Wheelwright Shops, June: 7, 1898 - These shops were owned by J.C. Bowne and were located at the corner of Gordon and Washington Streets.
July: A 1923 Armstrong Ford, Price $1500 - The destination of this car was Roanoke, Virginia. The four men pictured from left to right are Brownie Kuberski, Doug Miller, Bill Larkin and Oreon Thoburn.
August: Jim Hode's Barber Shop, August 27, 1924 - This barber shop was located on the corner of William and Henry Streets. Pictured are Jim Hode on the left and Bat Nelson in the chair. This building is presently the home of the McCloskey Family.
September: American Enameled Brick & Tile Co. Float for South River's 200th Anniversary Parade - 1920 - The American Enameled Brick & Tile Co. was established in 1893 by Julius Steurberg, his son Herbert Steurberg and Francis Booraem, and was located on upper Whitehead Ave. near the Raritan River Railroad station. It provided enameled tile for facing buildings, bathrooms, kitchens, laundries, hospitals and the wall facing the New York subway. In June: 1934, the plant was destroyed by fire and the company never rebuilt.
October: Lunepp's Lace and Embroidery Company, October 1926 - This shop was located on Division Street. It later became Kozak's Factory.
November: Bootlegging Gang Party at the Washington Hotel, circa 1930 - Back row, left to right: J. Baloney, ?, Hugo Singleton, ?, Willard Meade, ?; Third row, left to right: Butch Nisonoff, Grapes Gawrylo, Chiefie, John Zalesky, Clams, ?, ?, Homer Rogers, Ralph Cost, Ed White, Mike Sidorowich, ?: Second row, left to right: Chick Callahan, Jackie the Bartender, ?, ?, Ralph Meade, ?; Front row, left to right: Al Luker, ?, Monk Baranek, Honsey Gavel, Shakes Curly.
December: Liberty Ballroom Christmas Party, circa 1950 - Back row, left to right: A. Mondrack, N. Grabko, A. Silvers, M. Toth, A. Koscziukiewicz, A. Kalicki, ?, ?, Frankie, Patty Allen; Third row, left to right: N. Tablonsky, V. Zawadsky, Sosnowski, J. Boshko, G. Camp, N. Duke, ?. Second row, left to right: S. Vass, J. Kologinsky, F. Martin, Kappy, Kopak, T. Reckage, ?, Al Sumski; Front row, left to right: L. Chmura, Zawadsky, G. Zohowitz, M. Yanowski, Baranowski, Zawadsky. Foreground: Clown ?, Santa Claus - B. Hoffman. 


Cover: Current photo of Old School Baptist Church
January: Members of the South River Elks Lodge No. 2033, circa 1968 - A few members of the Elks are preparing to celebrate another milestone in Elkdom history. Pictured left to right: Warren Booraem, "Chef" John Bosko, Salvatore Marvuglio, "Chef" William Bucko, "Chef" Art Green, and Donald Calnan.
February: Al Bagamary's Bar, 16 William Street, circa 1950 - Al Bagamary is behind the bar serving William Weis and a patron. Connected to the bar was a bowling alley, not pictured.
March: Young Polish American Band, circa 1935 - As identified by the writing on the drum, this is the Young Polish American Band of the Polish National Home of South River. Pictured from left to right: Top Row - Wojiehowski, Ted Kadela, ?, Alex Yudin, Fred Kucharski, _ Giera, Arthur Garbosky, Anton Stuby, Joseph Wiecorek, ?. 3rd Row - Traszka, Joseph Wybranski, _ Pietrowski, Daniel Konapacki, Fred Olzowski ?, ?, Chester Zdrodowski, _ Baranowski, Joe Lesnowski, ?. 2nd Row - Charles Brilla, Adam Zdrodowski, ?, ?, _ Orlowski, ?, Milton Bara, ?. Front Row - Ben Giera, Bernard Traszka, Professor Stefan, _ Hippoli, _ Orlowski, ?, Mr. Giera _ Man with the Flag - Mr. Gierotowski.
April: Interior of Saints Peter and Paul Russian Orthodox Church, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1930 - The interior of the church as it appeared on Great and Holy Friday. In the center is an icon of the tomb of Christ. Note that pews were not yet installed in the early thirties.
May: William Campbell School - 8th Grade Class of 1933 - Left to right- 1st row: Lenore Klekner Snedecker, Margaret Kurtz Newman, Rosemary Marko Booraem, Lydia Suskevich Borak, Florence Meade Morrow, Alma Ingram Warden, Doris Henry Wenger, Corinne Sieber Cebula, Florence Matts Swiderski, Vivian Beldring. 2nd row: Mary Wroblewski, Pauline Eib Wolff, Dorothy Arehart, Frances Urbanowicz Voorhees, Elizabeth Hendrickson, Olga Tobias Theisman, Anne Politica Upenshaw, Edith Krinke, Elizabeth Scupp, Ceil Wondowsky Cackowski, Dorothy Molnar, Mary Vacchio Stroumtsos. 3rd Row: Teacher-Elise Mantell, Jack Bartow, Charles Morfitt, Robert Young, Lawrence Chemeskie, Edwin Meissner, Phillip Geiger, Chester Cislo, Principal - John Milligan. 4th Row: John Myslicovan, Alex Nemeth, Raymond Skevington, Michael Balog, Frederick Stonehouse, Walter Pesetsky, Harvey Winant, John Vulcan, Joseph Spreng. 5th Row: Leland Parkinson, William Van Ness, Fred Meade, Joseph Boricheski, William Kay, James Doeler, Fred Olchasky, Joseph Pesetsky, Russell Bloodgood.
June: Lincoln School Eight Grade Graduation Class, June: 1946 - This is the one and only eighth grade graduation that Lincoln School had. Seated, first row left to right: Asunta Roselli, Alice Olivera, Geraldine Petrak, Gertrude ?, Theresa Chadwick, Irene Nagy, Mae Hansen, Ida Fisezi. Second row, left to right: Frank Mate, Louis Roman, Margaret Kovacs, Lorraine Witczak (Teacher), Martha Smith (Principal), Mary LaRusso (Teacher), Charlotte Regelski, Richard Seppi, Louis Szabo. Third row, left to right: John Tobiasz, John Jennings, Fred Majewski, John Lenhart, Oswald Lipman, Robert French, Edward Majewski, Marvin Shapiro, Stephen Koblos, and Robert Kull.
July: Bara's Ice Cream Parlor, 188 Whitehead Avenue (Left) and Brzozowski's Shoe Repair Shop, 190 Whitehead Avenue (Right) - The shoe repair shop was the former Ann's Dress Shop. The man and woman upstairs are unknown boarders. Pictured left to right: unknown male, Joseph Bara, Albert Bara, Stella Bara Miglin, Joseph Jr. (in carriage), Helen Bara Kwiatkowski, Mary Bara, and George Bara.
August: Gottfredsen Brothers' Bakery, Reid and George Streets, circa 1910 - The Gottfredsen Brothers operated their main bakery at the corner of Reid and George Streets. They also had a branch at Ferry and Main Streets. Note the phone number 76J.
September: Allgair Warehouse and Trucks, circa 1950 - A section of the Allgair warehouse can be seen behind the trucks which are ready for delivery of beverages to various outlets. Pictured in cabs left to right: John O'Neill, Peter O'Neill, Gerald Weis. Standing in front of trucks left to right: William Weis, Edward Wisniewski, John Hall, J. Jesko, Stanley Witkowski.
October: Costume Ball at Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1930 - Pictured from left to right: seated on floor - Mary Allgair Weis, Betty Pringle, Winifred Pringle, Valerian Klekner Eden. Second row - ? Rev. Turner, Mrs. Koenig, Sarah T.M. Brown, Ella Jan Peterson, Miriam Levinson, Mae Morgan, ?, Ermina Klein, ?, Elizabeth Booraem, ?, Mary Simonson, Mrs. Monahan, Elwood Monahan. Third row - ? ? ? ? ? ?, Jane Morgan Christ, Raymond Booraem Sr., Phyllis Eastham, Ethel Allgair, William Allgair, Olive Cathcart Pringle. Top row - ? ?, Edward W. Price, Sr., Adam Freehan, rest of row are unknown.
November: Tony's Market, Main Street, circa 1940 - This Italian specialties and vegetable market was located on Main Street where the present day Villagio's Food Emporium is located. Pictured are Tony Calderone, owner, and "Doc" Palo.
December: General Cigar Company, Inc. - 1927 - The General Cigar Company, Inc. built this factory in 1913 at Russel and Water Streets. It was one of the first cigar factories to use automatic machinery and it produced White Owl, Robert Burns, Van Dyck, and William Penn Brands. The factory closed in 1948. Center 2nd from front: Mary Kissel - binder feeder, binder, wrapper, examiner on one machine. Note the rolled cigars on the rack to the right of the man standing between the windows. 


Cover: Memorial Day salute in front of Doughboy monument at the Old School Baptist Church.
January: Ladies Garment Workers, Main Street, circa 1940 - The ladies of the garment factories are walking along Main Street supporting the bond effort during World War II. Leading the rally are Rose Gruska Miller on the left and Agnes Tekowitz on the right.
February: The Columbia Band, circa 1910 - The drum major is John Fee. Edward W. Price, Sr. is standing directly behind the drum major.
March: The Patrick Allen House and Garage, circa 1930 - The Patrick Allen house is pictured in the background on the left. It was on the corner of Jackson and VanDeventer (now Obert) Streets. Allen's garage is pictured in the background on the right. The garage faced Jackson Street. Joe Paulson is on the left and the Allen boy is on the right.
April: Corner of Thomas and George Streets, circa 1920 - Pictured on the present day Rescue Squad property from left to right are: Julius Stankowski, Grace Smith Auer, and Charles Eberwein. The house pictured directly across Thomas Street is the Weingarten Home, which is the firehouse parking lot today. To the left, looking down George Street, the first house is the Reichenbach Home.
May: John Fisezi Funeral, First Reformed Church, circa 1940 - John Fisezi, nineteen years old, was the first South River casualty to come home from World War II. The funeral procession is progressing from the front of the First Reformed Church on Thomas Street heading toward Main Street.
June: William Campbell School -- 8th Grade Class of 1947 - Left to right--1st row: Carole Jolly Clayton, Barbara Sosnosky Wiecek, Elizabeth Rohrhirsch Williams, Jackie VanDerveer Grogan, Joan Wohnus Hoskins, Viola Schmitt Boylan, Joan Zelanko Largey, Rose Zerman Wyles, Jeanne Novitt Cramer, Audrey Wright Payne. 2nd row: Sheila Bauman Parkins, Dolores Dietrick Colbert, Maryann Wentz, Elsie Wedemeyer McDonough, Joan Schaible Griggs, Phyllis Berman Rosenhouse, Marilyn Holt Meloni. 3rd row: Steve Duschock, Jack Gilbert, Charles Amarescu, Robert Matts, Arthur Rossi, Bruce Rule, George Mason, Teacher Rae Smith. 4th row: Richard Leming, Clark White, Robert Davis, Robert Palmer, Francis Urbanik, Principal Joseph Hollfelder.
July: Ed Price Orchestra - Seated left to right: trombone, Charles Clausen; drums, William Armstrong; trumpet, Ed Weck; piano, ?; saxophone/leader, Ed Price, Sr.; violin, Adam Freehan.
August: Boat in the South River by Water Street, circa 1930 - These big boats and yachts were tied parallel to Water Street looking from Main Street toward Jackson Street. Boats of this size were common on the river.
September: Willett School Safety Patrol, 1941 - Left to right--1st row: Walter Shaluha, Tony Dikovicky, Matthew Wright, Ahmed Romeieh, Richard Fisanick, John Garboski, George Cerekwas. 2nd row: Louis Howard, Steve Watsey, John Yanowski, Joseph Koziatek, Jerry Cohen, Joseph Zawadsky, Fred Duttkin, George Klimcsak. 3rd row: Ralph Banzinger, Walter Dedovich, John Speldos, Principal Russell Howarth, Teacher Joseph Tausta, Robert Fedak, Stanley Komarowski, Charles Howarth.
October: South River Yacht Club, Water Street, circa 1930 - The South River Yacht Club was on Water Street near Main Street. Viewed from the water side, notice the boat docked in the water.
November: Miniature Golf Course, Corner of Jackson and Gordon Streets, circa 1920 - The view is from Gordon Street looking toward Jackson Street. The man in the foreground is Edward Slaski. Note the bridge on the golf course behind him. The building in the background is on Jackson Street and was the Atlantic and Pacific Grocery Store. Today that building is where Smitty's Cabaret is located.
December: The First Reformed Church, Thomas Street, circa 1920 - The First Reformed Church on Thomas Street pictures the congregation in front of the church and the parsonage on the right. Notice the open space to the right of the Parsonage where a parking lot and house are now located. 


Cover: World War II Honor Roll - Corner of Stephen and Main Streets, circa 1940.
January: Mark's Shoe Store, Ferry Street, circa 1920 - This building was located on the corner of Ferry Street and Klauser Lane. The building to the right is the Willet House. Both buildings were destroyed by fire in 1983. Today both properties remain empty.
February: A & P Grocery Store, Ferry Street, circa 1916 - Pictured is the inside of the A & P Grocery Store located on Ferry Street. It was next door to the Keller Confectionary Store. The man pictured on the left is Herb Colfer.
March: Becker's News Stand, Main Street, circa 1930 - This building was located across the street from the present day Becker's where the South River Appliance is now located. Pictured in front of the building are Mr. Becker on the left and Stanley Zienkowicz on the right.
April: Raritan River Railroad Bridge, Off Whitehead Avenue, circa 1915 - Pictured to the left of the railroad track is the American Enamel Brick and Tile Company. The little shed on the right of the track is the bridge-tenders building. The big building on the right is the Herrmann Aukam Handkerchief Factory. [Postcard caption: 430 -View of Railroad Bridge, South River, NJ]
May: Ferry Street Businesses, circa 1915 - This is Ferry Street looking from Main Street to Jackson Street. To the right is Greenfield's Department Store, an old residence, the Cabot Building, the Firehouse, and Fee's Liquor Store. Across Washington Street, still on the right, is the Klauser Building. Notice the old trolley car on Jackson Street. [Postcard caption: Ferry St., South River, NJ]
June: Stores of George H. Serviss and Arthur Levy, Main Street, circa 1910 - To the left is the George Serviss Arcade. The awning reads, "post cards, confectionary, fruits, cigars." To the right is the Arthur Levy Jewelry Store. This building today is occupied by the Europe Travel Service and the Mexican Grocery Store. The building to the left is the present day Portuguese Bakery, Ram's Head Tavern, and Old Mill Gallery. Around 1910 there was no building to the right.
July: Main Street East, Corner of main and Stephen Streets, circa 1920 - The building on the right is the Washington Hotel (presently Z & Z Building Supplies). Then comes the Greenfield Building. Across Ferry Street on the corner of Main and Ferry Streets is the Grand Hotel. In the foreground on the left is a gas pump. [Postcard caption: Main Street, South River, NJ]
August: Yates' Pond, circa 1920 - This view of Yates' Pond is from Monumental Cemetery. St. Mary's Church is in the background. Buildings in the upper left hand corner are on Pottery Lane. Notice the strip of land dividing the pond. The water on the other side of the land shows the reflection of the trees. [Postcard caption: Birds Eye View of South River, NJ]
September: People in Bleachers at Denny Stadium, 1965 - The people in the bleachers were viewing the football game that honored John Fitzpatrick upon his retirement as head of the South River High School Athletic Department. The men pictured in the front from left to right are Joseph Bodnar, Floyd Wyluda, George Mordas, Al Lach, Anthony Agnone, Ted Sivess, and George Dziedzak. In the second row, left to right, the men are Felix Nakielny, ?, Walter Kulik, Paul Hasak, and John Woronowicz. In the top left hand corner (in plaid shirt) is Russell Angersbach. The man with the sunglasses to the left of the announcer’s booth is John Garboski. How many more people can you identify in this picture? The right insert is a picture of John Fitzpatrick. [Inset caption: Mr. John F. Fitzpatrick, Head, Physical Education Dept.]
October: Barge Loaded with Brick, on the South River, off Reid Street, circa 1900 - This barge, loaded with brick, is sailing on the South River near the South River Brickyard (the present day V.F.W.). In the distant background on the other side of the river is the Sayre and Fisher Brickyard.
November: H. Willett Residence, Corner of Jackson Street and Whitehead Avenue, circa 1900 - This residence was torn down in 1903 to build the present St. Mary's Church. It was the home of the Willett Sisters whose portraits are in the Old School Baptist Church Museum.
December: Keller Confectionary, Ferry Street, circa 1910 - Pictured is the inside of the Keller Confectionary Store. The man in the picture is the owner, John Henry Keller. Notice the stools and soda fountain on the left and the glass counter and jars filled with candy on the right. Hanging from the ceiling are gas lights. 


Cover: The South River Seal as it appears on the front sidewalk as you enter the South River Museum on Main Street, the Criminal Justice Building on Main Street, and the Municipal Building on Washington Street. 2004.
January: Capitol Theatre, Main Street, 1930 - The marquee shows the movie playing at that time was "The Storm," starring Lupe Velez. To the left of the theatre is Bennett's Radio Parlor, and to the left of the parlor is the Capitol Specialty Shop. To the right of the theatre is the Capitol Confectionary Store. Above the confectionary store is William's Beauty Shop. This theatre closed in 1968.
February: South River Rescue Squad, George Street, circa late 1930 - Pictured is the Rescue Squad when it was located on George Street next to the Firehouse. The area where it was located is now part of the Firehouse. Then in 1948, when the new Rescue Squad Building on Thomas Street was completed, the squad moved to its new location. It remains there today.
March: Rafano's Restaurant and Pizzeria, Martin Avenue, circa 1949 - The restaurant sign is visible in the front window. Bob Rafano, age 12, is standing and Louis Rafano, age 7, is sitting on the steps. Their mother, Tessie, still lives in this house located on Martin Avenue next to Brodsky's factory (now Ecko).
April: Armstrong Ford Sales and Service, corner of Main and Obert Streets, circa 1920 - Armstrong Ford Sales and Service was first located at the corner of Main and Obert Streets (now the South River Pharmacy). Armstrong then moved to the corner of Jackson and Ferry Streets (across Ferry Street from the Pawlowski Building). Its final location was on Water Street where it became a Pontiac Agency.
May: Lincoln School Field Day, Miller's Field, William Street, circa 1920 - The third annual Field Day pictures Lincoln School students doing the May:pole Dance on Miller's Field which was owned by Miller's Brickyard. In the early 20's the field was made into a baseball field by Doug Miller using a team of horses from the brickyard. It was named Pacers' Field after the Pacers Baseball Team on which he played. The team used the field for many years. Today the field is known as Varga Park. Field Day became an annual school event that moved in the early 30's from Miller's Field to Campbell School Field.
June: Red Star Trading Stamp Company, Corner of Main and Obert Streets, circa 1915 - This General Store gave out trading stamps to customers (similar to S & H Green Stamps). The building was built by John Whitehead in 1901. It was owned and operated for many years by Duschock's Pharmacy. It is now occupied by South River Pharmacy.
July: Prospect Garage, Corner of Prospect Street and Old Bridge Turnpike, circa 1929 - This photo depicts the garage as it looked when owned by John Volena. Later the house to the left and the garage were incorporated into one building and it became Wagner and Hetman Auto. Next Bob Horn Auto-Plex Dodge were the occupants. The building was recently demolished, and Eckert Drugs now occupies the site.
August: First Bus Company in South River, 4-6 Prentice Avenue, circa 1920 - This photo shows three buses in fron of the Prentice Avenue building. The glass on the store-front day "Pool Room." The man on the right is Anthony Daszkiewicz, owner of the bus company which he established in 1920. His daughter, Jean, is standing on the fender of the bus next to her father. The man in the middle is Mr. Wojciechowicz, father of football player Alex Wojciechowicz. The remaining people in the photo are unidentified. The bus on the left is labeled "South River-Old Bridge-Jamesburg." The bus in the center is labeled "Jamesburg, Spotswood, So. River - So. River, Old Bridge - Spotswood, Helmetta, Jamesburg." The signs on the last bus are not legible. These buses brought workers and school children from outlying areas of South Amboy, Jamesburg, Helmetta and Sayreville into South River.
September: South River War Memorial Library, Main Street, circa 1950 - Pictured inside the library is Mrs. Clara Knight, Librarian, helping a group of students. Pictured left to right are Charlotte Gesicki, Gerald Grady, ?, Mrs. Knight, ?, John Borak, Mary Ann Weis, Louise Bell. The library is now the South River Museum, home of the South River Historical and Preservation Society.
October: Four views of Kuberski's Stables, River Road, circa 1970 - Leo Kuberski bought this property in 1953 from the Wright Family and moved Kuberski Stables from Radcliffe Street to River Road. The stable was known for its horse riding activities. Notice the old bathtubs used as water troughs. Today the property is a housing development.
November: Hospitality Parade. Main Street, November 3, 1962 - This parade began "Hospitality Week" - a week in which a special invitation was extended to all the residents of Central New Jersey to visit South River and see that it was a friendly community. This week was to be an expression of good will on the part of all South River residents to all their surrounding neighbors. The parade was a three-hour, three division parade followed by an exhibition of stunt parachute-jumping and a night-time block dance. Activities were scheduled for each night of the week and culminated the following Saturday, November 10, with the Crowning of Miss Hospitality, Shifra Stein.
December: Miller's Grocery Store, Main Street, circa 1930 - Pictured in the front of this store is Charles Miller, proprietor. He operated this grocery store for several years. It was located next to the Main Street Railroad Bridge. In later years a new building was built on this site and was occupied by Dittman's Meat Market. 


Cover: The September 11, 2001 Memorial by Blaise Batko at Dailey's Pond [2005]
January: Barkelew's Ice Wagon, circa 1900. This wagon delivered ice in South River and the surrounding areas. The ice house was located on Prospect Street by Dailey's Pond (present location of South River Glass Works).
February: The Towne Spa Ice Cream Shop, Ferry Street, circa 1953. Pictured are the owners Edith Milazzo Pastorio and her husband Andrew Pastorio. After the Towne Spa closed, Edith operated a hairdressing business in South River - first on Main Street and then moving to Thomas Street.
March: Interior of Capitol Theatre, Main Street, circa 1960. This theatre opened in 1928 and closed in 1968. Notice the chandelier which was donated by the business people in South River and is now hanging in the Imperial Music Center on Appleby Avenue.
April: Toth's Confectionary Store, corner of Prospect and William Streets, circa 1940. The Toth Family operated the confectionary store downstairs. The family lived upstairs. Nellie Toth also operated a dressmaking and alterations business upstairs.
May: Nakielny's Tailor Shop, 41 Jackson Street, circa 1920. Pictured are the Nakielny Family in front of their tailor shop. The shop did ladies' and gents' tailoring. You could also have garments made, cleaned, pressed and dyed.
June: Canal's Service Station, corner of Jackson and Water Streets, 1925. Pictured third from left is Eugene Canal, owner. Notice in the background the South River Hotel which was located on Klauser's Lane.
July: Magiera's Statue of Liberty Cake, 1955. Pictured is Stanley Magiera (center) who entered this cake into competition at the New Jersey Baker's Convention at the Berkeley Carteret Hotel in Asbury Park. He won many awards for his cake designs. He owned and operated the Magiera's Bakery at 60 Whitehead Avenue. Stanley's father began the business and turned it over to his son, Stanley, who operated it until it closed. The bakery was noted for its rye bread baked in its brick oven.
August: Heavy Equipment of Anthony Razzano, 147 Prospect Street, 1947. Antonio Razzano with his three sons Anthony, Michael and Frank operated a trucking and excavating company. Notice the old telephone exchange S.R. 6 posted on the truck.
September: South River Waist and Dress Company, Thomas Street, 1969. Left to right Back Row: Mrs. Jackie Stepko, Molly Razzano, Mr. Joseph Fekete, __, __, Vera __, Stella Arkman, Mr. Nathan Hindus, Mrs. Nathan Hindus, Mr. Hindus, Mary Zaremba, Betty Markulic, Sophie Corse. Front row: Juanita __, __, Union Representative ILGW, May: Lakarski, Mamie Zaremba, Elizabeth Molnar, Ella Pastor, Gertie Smutko. At this factory dresses were cut and sewn. They went straight to New York City. The labels read "Joanthan Logan" and "David Warren." The sewing machines were from the 1940s.
October: The Causeway, circa 1924. Pictured are three houses that still remain on the Causeway. The large building in the foreground is the Smalley Building. IT originally was a furniture store. Notice the metal bed in the window. In the 50s it became Moonie's Tavern.
November: Armstrong Ford Service and Parts Department, 52 Main Street, circa 1920. The service and parts department was next door to the showroom which was located on the corner of Main and Obert Streets. Notice the shelves and cases filled with replacement parts and the old Ford in for service.
December: John Whiteman Department Store, 47 Ferry Street, circa 1906. In the 200th Anniversary Book, Whiteman's ad read: "The store of dependable values. We are complete outfitters to men, women, and children. Also dealers in oil cloth, rugs, dry goods, leather goods." 


Cover: The Borough of South River Welcomes You. Past -- Future. Est. 1720. This welcome sign appears in several locations as you enter South River.
January: Interior of South River War Memorial Library, Main Street, circa 1950. Pictured standing from left to right are Joan Knight in white blouse, Jackie Ziemann wearing coat, and Emma Gazsi, librarian, holding book. Seated are two unidentified boys. This building is the present day South River Museum.
February: View of South River from the Washington Monumental Cemetery, circa 1920. The house in the foreground is the site of the present day electrical substation located on Willet Avenue. In the foreground to the left is Clayton Lumber Company. In the background to the left is the Hermann Aukum Factory and to the right is the American Enameled Brick & Tile Co. Behind the house (the white sandy area) is the present day Fitzpatrick Field.
March: South River Police Department, circa 1950. Pictured in the front of the South River Borough Hall are from left to right, bottom row to top row: 1st row: John Bara, Charles Van Deventer, Matthew Zaleski, John Quinn; 2nd row: __, Michael Vacchio, John Knoblock; 3rd row: Arthur Eppinger, Paul Borak, Jacob Kulik, Michael Maklary; 4th row: Michael Szoke, Henry Kozicki, Dennis Pirher; 5th row: Edward Kelly, Stephen Vass, Joseph Stashkevetch, Arthur Rossi.
April: St. Stephen Protomartyr Church, 20 William Street, circa 1925. Pictured is a wedding at the church. The house to the left was used as a rectory until it was torn down and the present day rectory was constructed. The church is observing its 100th anniversary this year.
May: 200th Anniversary Celebration Parade, Main Street, circa 1920. The parade is pictured as it passes the Borough Hall (top picture) and the near the intersection of Thomas Street (bottom picture).
June: South River High School Senior Prom, 1950. The class of 1950 held their prom in the High School gymnasium on Thomas Street. The school is now the Darul Arqam School.
July: Borough Hall/Fire Department, Main Street, 1918. The building was decorated for the World War I homecoming celebration. The sign above the main door reads " Welcome Home.".
August: Stonehouse Bros. Express, circa 1890. This express ran between New Brunswick, South River and Sayreville. George Stonehouse (father) is the driver. Alfred Stonehouse and Frederick Stonehouse (sons) are standing.
September: Class in front of Washington School No.1, Thomas Street, 1911. The school was called Washington School No. 1 from 1885 until 1920. After that it was S.R. High School, S.R. Junior High School, S.R. Middle School. Today it is the Darul Arqam School. Pictured are the teacher Mrs. Frandsen and the children from left to right: top row: Alex Schork, Steve Karaszi, Oreon Thoburn, Raymond Holmes, John Knobloch, Joe Yaeger, Steve Brilla, Charles Eberwein, Evan Plantic, Steve Nagy. 2nd row down: Ella Hermann, Lulu Meisner, Ethel Kaiser, Evelyn Holmes, Lillian Masiello, Grace Smith, Anna Zalenec, Margaret Locsa, Elizabeth Seppi, Teresa Knobloch, Amelia Lieudhart; 3rd row down: Eleanor Ayres, Elizabeth Racz, Jenny Masiello, Elizabeth Fekety, Gladys Booraem, Evelyn Styles, Rose Nagy, Grace Lukach, Margaret Szarvas, Rose Medvar; bottom row: Dennis Loya, Thomas Ayres, James Masiello, Paul Baxza, Eurgene Thomas, Frank Razzano, John Toth, Steve Serenco, John Csabay.
October: Residence of Edward Whitehead, 124 Main Street, circa 1908. This home was built by Edward Whitehead for his second wife. The building is now owned by the Tabernacle Baptist Church.
November: Bird's Eye View of South River, circa 1930. This view is taken from Campbell School at the corner of David Street and Johnson Place. Johnson Place is at the bottom left. At the time this picture was taken, Johnson Place began at the Old Bridge Turnpike and ended at David Street. The gray house on the left is the Goff homestead. The two-tone house on the right is the Matt homestead. The large storefront building is located on the corner of Melrose Place and David Street. In the background to the left was the South River water tower.
December: American Enameled Brick & Tile Company, upper Whitehead Avenue, circa 1920. The company was established in 1893 by Julius Steurberg, his son Herbert Steurberg and Francis Booraem. It was located on upper Whitehead Avenue near the Raritan River Railroad Station. The company provided enameled tile for various buildings and the wall facing for the New York Subway. The plant was destroyed by fire in 1934 and the company never rebuilt. 


Cover: The Gazebo, Dailey's Pond, Prospect Street.
January: Gordon Street looking from Washington Street toward Main Street, circa 1900. Pictured on the left are Stephen Gaszi's Buggy and the Methodist Episcopal Church. On the right, on the corner of Main and Gordon Streets, is Dr. Brown's office and home (later became the office and home of Dr. Dieker).
February: Altar of Saint Stephen Protomartyr Church, William Street, 1907. This altar was located in the wooden church which burned in February 1921. The present day church was built late in 1921. St. Stephen's Church celebrated its one hundredth anniversary last year (1907 - 2007).
March: Tanner's Homestead at the Triangle of the Present Day Main Street, Old Bridge Turnpike and Hillside Avenue, circa 1907. The area where Tanner's Home was located became known as Tanner's Corner. It is the current site of the Crestwood.
April: Lincoln School Midget Softball Champs, 1935. Pictured from left to right: 1st row (bottom): Bob Fedak, Nick Buffalino (batboy), Doug Reichenbach; 2nd row (middle): George Meyers, Ed Bell, Tom Bove, John Fitzpatrick, Manuel Martins, Howie Herzog, Carmella Iaria; 3rd row (top): Tony Massaro, Joe Wojeck, Leslie Hode, Mike Canaval, Pete Polgar, Frank Wagenblast.
May: The South River Drawbridge of the Raritan River Railroad May: 28, 1938. The drawbridge is located off of Whitehead Avenue next to the South River Boat Club. Pictured by the trestle is Engine #15.
June: South River Causeway Road, Heading toward Sayreville, circa 1900. The picture is taken from Water Street with the trolley tracks visible on the left side of the road. In the background, the drying sheds of Sayre and Fisher May: be seen.
July: United States Post Office, South River, New Jersey, July: 2, 1941. This is a view of the construction of the rear wall of the present day Post Office taken from the southwest looking northeast.
August: View of the South River behind Water Street, circa 1950. This view is taken from the back of the B&T Dinner. The long building is Rosen Beverage. At the foot of Main Street is the Laffin Building and parking lot. The floating dock in the foreground is in back of Veteran's Gas Station.
September: Raritan River Railroad Passenger Station, circa 1915. This station was located where the tracks cross Whitehead Avenue. A strike was declared at this depot in July: 1917 when fares between South River and Parlin were raised from five to ten cents. The demonstration grew beyond the efforts of the local police, so the National Guard was called in. When things "quieted-down," the company compromised with a two cent fare hike.
October: Interior of the Raritan River Railroad Station, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1915. Passenger tickets could be purchased here. In its early years, many girls working at the handkerchief factory and men working at plants in Parlin would purchase their tickets here.
November: Swiss Embroidery Factory of Oscar Bohi, Corner of Water Street and the Causeway, 1911. Oscar Bohi is pictured standing by an embroidery machine with his workers: Joe Andres, Fred Andres, Honas Andres, John Wagner, Joe Peterson, Pat Creamer, Emil Fritz, Elias Tiprochesk, Tony Story, Bobby Jackin, Arthur Anderson, Selinor Canal, Anna Freschol, Mrs. Peterson, Amelia Kowisky, Jean Canal, Joe Kowisky, John Urbanik, Steven Kapinsky, and Florence Adlar.
December: Reid Street Looking Toward Main Street, 1895. The sign on the building on the left side of the street names it as the shop of Gustav Wall Harness Maker. The large building beyond it (with the two chimneys) is the Allgair Hotel. On Main Street, at the far end of the photo, is the Union Hotel on the left and Bissett's Store on the right. 


Cover: The Old School Baptist Church Cemetery, behind the South River Museum.
January: Jackson Street Neighbors Making Sweaters for Soldiers During World War II, circa 1940. Pictured knitting sweaters in the Sawicki home are from left to right: Mrs. Zalewski, Mrs. Majewski, ?, Mrs. Chadwick, Mrs. Lizewski, Mrs. Gontaz, Mrs. Sawicki, and Mrs. Domanski. Victoria Sawicki organized the group with the support of the Red Cross, who donated the yarn and took care of the shipping.
February: Hotel Grand, corner of Main and Ferry Streets, circa 1924. The ground floor housed a drugstore, and a delicatessen and restaurant. Attached to the building is a one-story building housing a 5, 10, and 25 cent store.
March: Campbell School Fifth Grade Students with South River Timeline, 1970. The students of Margaret Drumright developed this timeline of South River history from 1720-1970 to celebrate the 250th anniversary of the Borough. The timeline is now in the South River Museum. Pictured are from left to right: Ron Kisch, Carol Hess, Bill Fleming, ? {Karen Grompone}, Joe Lis, Gayle Barkalow, Art Opanowicz, Cathy Larkin, ? (James Hreha}, Gregg Stout, and ?.
April: Allgair's Steamboat Hotel, corner of Main and Reid Streets, 1895. The ground floor window says Hotel Barand the sign by the swinging door advertises "Ballantine & Co's Export Beer." Emil Fritz is the young boy at the far right. The Hotel was destroyed by fire Mary 1, 1896. It was rebuilt as the American Hotel in 1897.
May: John Rhinehart Express, circa 1910. The Express is pictured on Whitehead Avenue in front of the Hermann and Aukman Handkerchief Factory.
June: Willett School Eighth Grade Class, June: 1944. Pictured from left to right, top row to bottom row: 1st row (top) - Julius Bode, Joe Csatari, Mike Vacchio, George Wojcik, Jack Froude, Tony Calderone, Ray Bara, Chris Romeo, Frank Chartowich. 2nd row (from top) - Ernest Weller, Marvin Rosen, Arthur Kaminsky, Walter Boris, Ronald Gonier, John Garbosky, Joan Zabalinsky, Mae Volena, Mrs. Schulman, Mr. Howarth, Mrs. Bohi, Janet Kobylinski, Lena Rossi, Joe Karaszi, Stanley Wojcik, Edward Klimscak, John Grabko, Walter Swenticky, Charles Angersbach. 3rd row (from top) - Pearl Majewski, Margaret Cannon, Patsy Grant, Mary Wilczewski, Elaine Schaed, Virginia Sirpinski, Frances Toth, Jean Canal, Jennie Bandarick, Doris Zadorsky, Arlene O'Grady, Marie Kelly, Rose Barone, Tillie Arseski, Harriet Klucznik, Majorie Fisanick, Helen Messeka, Betty Balka, Amelia Braitsch, Beatrice Biernacki, Gloria Polon. 4th row (from top) - Lucille Johnston, Janet Smiglesky, Julianna Roman, Jane Johnston, Evelyn Pastor, Kathleen Koblos, Dorothy Serenko, Marcy Ohlberg, Katherine Koblos, Eleanor Barglowsky, Edwina Wawrzynski, Thelma Svendsen, Leona Hermaski, Lillian Roselli, Helen Boszko, Eleanor Tomory, Mary Vacchio, Marion Barrett, Lorraine Pellino, Lillian Swedrek, Irene Wenta. 5th row (bottom) - Walter Wisocky, Clyde Szuch, Donald Brim, Walter Ligas, Edward Sumski, Joe Sokoloski, Chris Blake, Theodore Marozine, Alex Rusin, James Phillips, George Bokroski, Edward Mroszko, Milton Golaszewski, Sam DeLucia.
July: Owner and Workers of Miller's Brickyard, William Street, 1909. Pictured in front of the dolly that transported clay to be made into brick are the work crew and owner. Second from the right in the back row is Victor {Frank} Romanowski. Joseph Miller, Sr., owner, is standing in the front row on the far left (black hat and shirt). Notice the rows of bricks on the ground and the brick molds on the wagon.
August: South River Waist & Dress Co. Shop Party, 1952. This dress factory made dresses for many department stores in New York and employed many women from South River. The banners at the rear read "Turn the homecoming into the home making" and "See them through in '52," showing support for the troops who were serving in the Korean Conflict.
September: South River Police Reserves in front of Borough Hall, 1954. At the time, the Chief was Matthew Zaleski and the Police Commissioner was Ted Kadela.
October: Colonial Sweet Shop, 76 Main Street, circa 1960. The Colonial was a favorite meeting place of the youth of South River in the fifties and sixties. It is now Ed Mack's Barber Shop.
November: Riverside Hotel, corner of Whitehead Avenue and Augusta Street, 1907. Alexander Schack was the innkeeper and liquor dealer of this hotel. The hotel was used as a meeting place for many groups and organizations in South River. It is the current site of the Ria Mar Restaurant.
December: Imperial Christmas Concert, Imperial Music Center, Appleby Ave., December 1978. Pictured are the Imperial Chorus (above) and Band (at right) conducted by Ted Kadela with Woodis Booraem at the piano. 


Cover: Mabel Keisele and Hattie Mackey bicycling in South River, June: 29, 1897.
January: River View from Reid Street after a Sleet Storm, February 23, 1902. This picture was taken at the Reid Street bend near Booraem's shipyard. Note the tall ship on the river. The building at the left is part of John Whitehead's Brick Yard where the V.F.W. is now located.
February: WWII Bomber purchased by the Industrial Workers of South River, circa 1944. Pictured with the bomber are members of the garment and industrial workers of South River and representatives from South River and the Army Air Forces. As part of the Buy a Bomberwar bonds campaign, workers purchased this B-24 Liberator and presented it to the U.S. Army Air Forces. If you can identify any of the people in the photo, please contact the South River Historical & Preservation Society.
March: Barroom of the Raritan River Railroad Hotel, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1900. This hotel was located on Whitehead Avenue near the railroad tracks next to the present day T&Z Auto Repair. The brick building still remains as an apartment building. Pictured standing by the bar is the proprietor, Forman C. Bissett. The bartender is Jim Fitton. Note the row of spittoons along the brass rail at the foot of the bar.
April: The Causeway Road, circa 1898. Pictured is the eastern end of the Causeway. Notice that the trolley tracks ended here and, although there are poles for wires, all but one stands unused.
May: Pavilions and Grounds adjoining Schack's Saloon, Whitehead Avenue and Augusta Street, May: 1906. These pavilions and grounds were used for outside activities and affairs. Three children are visible in the doorway of the building at the right. These grounds are now the parking lot for the Ria Mar restaurant.
June: Cy Smith in front of his Boat Shop, Water Street, circa 1930. This shop was located on Water Street across from Eberwein Street where Diorio's Auto Body Shop is now located. The pulley platform being repaired was used to slide boats into the water.
July: Julius Blaszka's Neighborhood Store, 27 George Street, circa late 1940s. This store was located on George Street between Leland Avenue and Clinton Street. As noted on the windows, it sold a wide variety of groceries, including cold meats, condiments, vegetables, sauces and seasonings, cigars, cigarettes, tobacco, candy, ice cream, and soda.
August: Workers in front of Brown, Rose & Co., Grain, Hay and Feed, circa 1910. This company was located at the foot of Main Street where Laffin's showroom was located.
September: Aerial View of South River, August 1932. The passenger and freight stations of the Raritan River Railroad are pictured on the left. The street across the bottom of the picture is Whitehead Avenue. The cone stacks and surrounding buildings are the American Enameled Brick and Tile Company. On June: 3, 1934, the brick plant and the ten workers' cottages near the plant were destroyed by fire.
October: View of Prospect Street, November 21, 1898. View from bend in Prospect Street looking southeast toward Reid Street. The sandpits in the foreground are where the present day Knoblock Auto Body and Repair is located.
November: Henry Herrmann Residence, Main Street, November 12, 1894. Located on Main Street across from Gordon Street, this house was the residence of handkerchief manufacturer Henry Herrmann. He's listed in the 1900 Federal census with his wife Ella; sons Samuel, Charles, and Martin; and daughters Alice, Leah, and Rose.
December: Joel C. Perry's Store, Main Street, November 12, 1894. The right side of the building is the Perry variety store with signs advertising painters' supplies, paper hanging, and tackle. On the left is the watch and clock store operated by I. Kontrowitz. The building was destroyed by fire in 1908. 


Cover: Alice Radcliffe feeding the chickens at the Radcliffe house on Obert Street, July: 21, 1898.
January: Aerial view of South River, August 20, 1929. The winding river is the South River with the Causeway Bridge in the upper right.
February: Jacob Levinson's Store and the Magnolia Hotel, May: 25, 1892. This store and hotel were located on lower Main Street near Reid Street. On the left is Manahan's boarding stable. Jacob Levinson's dry goods store later became Robin's Bargain Store. The Magnolia Hotel was owned by Samuel Gordon. The hotel site is now the location of a Chinese restaurant.
March: Charles S. Colwell Residence, corner of Main and Jackson Streets, March 13, 1893. This house was destroyed by fire on December 28, 1894. Colwell, a retired iron merchant, was visiting New York with his wife and daughter when the fire took place. In 1908 Edward Whitehead built a house on the property for his bride. The Whitehead House is now owned by the Tabernacle Baptist Church.
April: Henry Schroeder Building, Main Street, April 19, 1894. The left side of the building housed the Post Office and the right, the Schroeder Hairdressing Parlor. The building was the starting point for the July: 10, 1908 fire that destroyed it and many of the surrounding buildings in the heart of the downtown area.
May: View from the top of the Allgair Hotel, Reid Street, August 3, 1896. Looking north along Reid Street, the South River Brickyard (located at the site of the present day V.F.W.) is visible in the background in the upper right. Note the tall smokestack on the brickyard building.
June: The Campbell School Eighth Grade Graduation Class, June: 1945. The Campbell School and Willett School graduations were held at the Capitol Theatre on Main Street at 2:30 p.m. on June: 14, 1945. Campbell School was located on the corner of David Street and Johnson Place where the South River Primary School is now located. The Willett School building, located on Charles Street, is now the Moshe Aaron Yeshiva High School. Pictured from left to right – Front Row: Mrs. Rae R. Smith (homeroom teacher), George Gunia, Lorraine (Wascavage) Fleming, Florence (Kozlakowski) Brooks, Vivian (Jaraszenski), Iris (Sieber) Schmitt, Diane DeVoe, Florence (Romatoski) Kuziola, Joanne (Church) Turner, Robert Quackenboss, Mr. Joseph F. Hollfelder (principal). Second Row: Fran (Heluk) Kologinski, Betty (Gerhartz) Fabian, Rita (Scheid) Lins, Joline (Armstrong) Quackenbush. Third Row: Karlin (Schwarz) Hoover, Pauline (Gill) Applegate, Dolores (Zaleski) Heinrich, Elsie (Kish) Stefura, Doris (Krieger) Meissner, Joan (Voorhees) Nixon. Fourth Row: Howard Perdun, Robert Urhrig, David Wright, George Applegate, Bernhard Eberle. Fifth Row: Ronald Mark, Everett Gardner, Richard Palmer, Jack Appleby, Austin Thorne, William Malinofsky, Royal Ing.
July: William Reichenbach's Milk Truck, circa 1940. Bill Reichenbach, Sr. had a milk route in South River for many years. Pictured on the running board of the truck is Richard Reichenbach, Bill's son. Notice the telephone number on the truck – S.R. 966-R.
August: Rebuilding the Causeway Bridge, August 21, 1916. These photographs show the rebuilding of the second Causeway bridge. The original bridge was built in 1860, was privately owned, and was a toll bridge. The bridge was eventually purchased by the County and became a free public bridge.
An 1859 state law allowed for the building of a bridge "over and across South River, at or near the village of Washington" (now South River). The law also allowed for "the following rates of toll and no more:"
"For every person on foot, one cent.
For every person on horse or mule, two cents.
For all wagons, carts, sleighs or sleds drawn by one horse, mule or oxen, three cents.
For all one horse pleasure carriages, three cents.
For all two horse pleasure carriages or stages, four cents.
For all two horse, mule or ox wagons, carts, sleighs or sleds, four cents.
For all four horse, mule or ox carriages, of every kind, six cents.
For all cattle or horses, one cent.
For all hogs, calves and sheep, half cent."
September: George Street looking West from Stephen Street, August 1906. The horse and wagon heading toward Main Street in the background at the left marks the intersection of George Street and Thomas Street. Facing Thomas Street is Washington School No. 1 (later South River High School, South River Junior High School, South River Middle School, and currently the Darul Arqum School).
October: The South River High School Football Team, 1966. This football team was undefeated. Two of the team members, Drew Pearson and Joe Theismann, went on to become professional players in the NFL. Pictured from left to right: Front Row: Drew Pearson, Tom Bara, Dennis Bergeron, John Holod, Greg Sivess, Bob Weis, Carl Hill, Ed Biernacki. Back Row: John Kaczorowski, Bob Smutko, Andy Evano, Frank Wagenblast, Joe Theisman, Wally Jarmula, Len Kolakowski, Rich Malinofsky, Rich Klos.
November: Obert Street looking South from Main Street, November 8, 1898. Named in honor of Peter Obert, an early South River settler, this dirt street was lined with large trees and clapboard houses. Several businesses, including the bakery visible in the left foreground, were also common to the neighborhood.
December: Charles S. Smith Residence, Main Street, circa 1895. This house is notable for the Victorian gingerbread trim on the roof, under the eaves, and along the roof of the wraparound porch. Notice too, the almost as ornate birdhouse in the large tree in front of the house. The hand-printed sign on the porch states This Property 4 Sale. 


Cover: This 15 pound copper and brass rooster weather vane, which adorns the steeple of the First Reformed Church on Thomas Street, was handcrafted in 1923 by Benjamin Bencze, a South River tinsmith.
January: Outer and Inner Lobbies of the Capitol Theatre, Main Street, circa 1960. Pictured here are the entrance lobby (above) and the interior lobby (at right) of the Capitol Theatre. The theater opened in January 1928 and closed on January 27, 1968.
February: Main Street looking toward the South River, 1949. Visible on the left are the First National Bank, Harry's Department Store, South River Appliance, Bond Cleaner, the Capitol Theatre, and the Hotel Pershing. On the right are the Associated Auto Parts Co., Baker's Five and Dime Store, and Duschock's Pharmacy. -- A close look at the theater marquee reveals the feature film of the day. RKO Pictures' "The Big Steal" starred Robert Mitchum, Jane Greer, and William Bendix.
March: South River Elks Lodge Members, circa 1960. A permanent home for Elks Lodge #2033 was purchased at 205 Main Street and a formal dedication of the building was held on October 2, 1960. Pictured from left to right are: Front Row: ?, Red Franklin, Don Calnan, Ed Price Jr., ?, Ed Trygar Sr., Hank Jones, Charles Sicknick -- Back Row: Art Green, John Quinn, Marvin Shapiro, Bill Bucko, Ted Appleby, Al Kasper, ?, Warren Booraem, John Bosko.
April: Raritan River Railroad Crossing, Willett Avenue, circa 1950. Pictured above are two employees of the Raritan River Railroad measuring the main line tracks on Willett Avenue. The tracks in the foreground are a spur leading to Clayton's lumber yard. To the left is a storage building belonging to the Clayton Lumber Company; to the right is the northeast corner of Washington Monumental Cemetery.
May: Field Day Parade. Jackson and Obert Streets. circa 1950. Each May: the children from all of the schools in South River marched in costume to the Campbell School Field for Field Day. Pictured at left are the children from Lincoln School as they pass Smacker's Inn; below are the Willett School students. -- Field day included entertainment as well as a variety of athletic events. Children from each school performed, not only for the other schools, but also for their parents.
June: Home on Maple Avenue, circa 1950. This house on Maple Avenue was purchased by the South River Board of Education. It was subsequently torn down to provide parking for the Lincoln Elementary School.
July: Henry Street looking West from Maple Avenue, May: 21, 1902. The view above shows Henry Street looking toward William Street. The six identical structures are houses that were built by the South River Brick Company for company employees.
August: Leon Stachowski in Front of Stachowski Paint Truck, circa 1940. Pictured atop a ladder next to his father's paint truck is Leon Stachowski holding a cat. -- Alex Stachowski ran a painting and decorating business in South River for many years.
September: South River High School Auditorium, Thomas Street, 1928. This photo shows the auditorium of the former South River High School as it appeared in the 1920s. The building has undergone a variety of changes since it first opened as Washington School No.1 in 1885. It is currently the Darul Arqum School. -- The wooden chairs are now in use at the South River Museum.
October: Main Entrance of the Hermann, Aukman, & Company Handkerchief Factory, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1910. Although the company name in the caption is inaccurate, this postcard view shows the main factory entrance located on Whitehead Avenue near the railroad tracks. The building burned down in October 1969.
November: Railroad Hotel, Jackson Street near Willett Lane, June: 7, 1898. The hotel was originally owned and operated by Thomas Daley, who died in late 1898, just months after this photograph was taken by R. Van Dyke Reid. Family members continued to run the hotel until it burned July: 1908. It was rebuilt on an adjoining plot of land.
December: First National Bank of South River, Main Street, circa 1929. From 1863 until 1935 national banks were allowed to issue currency under their own names. The $10 National Bank note shown at left is dated 1929 and bears the signatures of W.T. Armstrong, cashier, and N.W. Clayton, President of the First National Bank of South River. 


Cover: Original Cupola Bell of the South River Public School. The bell is now on display in the courtyard of the South River High School.
January: Danley Electrical Supply Store, Main Street, 1924. This store was located on Main Street where the Dunkin Donuts parking lot is today. Behind the counter is Earl Danley. His sons Ralph (at left) and Walter E. Danley, Sr. are also pictured. The store sold lighting fixtures and related items including the "National Mazda Lamps" (light bulbs) that line the top shelf behind Mr. Danley.
February: Gordon Building, Main Street, circa 1909. Built in the latter part of 1908 on the former site of the Citizen's Hall building, the Gordon Building housed the Post Office, the South River Board of Trade, and William Morgan's Funeral Parlor. The "Quick Lunch" wagon was parked on the right and a portion of the Washington Hotel is visible at the left. Today the site is the location of a bakery, a law office, and a former tavern.
March: John Hohl Residence, Washington Street, March 1902. Located near the Union Baptist Church, this house was the home of John Hohl, his wife Anna, and their children. They were among the many that travelled from Switzerland in the late 1800s to take up residence in South River and work in the local embroidery trade.
April: Minstrel Show, High School Auditorium, April 1951. This minstrel show was presented at a combined session of the Lincoln, Willett, and Campbell School Parent-Teacher Associations by the Lincoln School P.T.A. Pictured left to right are: Mrs. Ben Kleinberg, Mrs. John Sosinski, Mrs. Joseph Smutko, Mrs., Stanley Surman, Mrs. John Geer, Mrs. John Wohnus, Mrs. Herbert Londesky, Mrs. Leroy French, Mrs. Jay Thomas, Mrs. William Weis, Mrs. Walter Lane, and Mrs. Henry Schickler.
May: Manhattan Boys' Club, East Street, South River, 1939. The Manhattan Boys' Club sponsored two sports, baseball and basketball. It was a very active club prior to World War II, but after the war it terminated all activities due to the age of its members and the fact that two of its members were killed in the war. Pictured from left to right are: Front Row – M. Kozlowski, W. Grekoski, S. Maskalevich, Mgr. P. Pacyna, C. Piskadlo, W. Silowka (killed in action), M. Zaunerowicz (killed in action). Back Row – S. Senko, E. Nachtman, J. Verbitsky, B. Mischiehowski, Mgr. ? Grabowski, W. Sitze, C. Pawlowski, I. Budzin, G. Cygan.
June: William Van Zandt Residence, Main Street, June: 1894. This house is located at 105 Main Street, to the left of the Busch Plaza building, across from the entrance to Gordon Street. The 1900 Federal Census gives Mr. Van Zandt's (sometime spelled Van Zant) occupation as wheelwright. Born in the 1820s, he was retired before the subsequent census was taken.
July: View of South River from Washington Monumental Cemetery, circa 1904. This postcard view is from the northeast end of the cemetery facing Willett Avenue. Below the cemetery, the Clayton and Pierson Lumber Company is visible along the line of the Raritan River Railroad tracks. The white building in the center advertises lumber, lime, cement, hardware, and pipe. The lumberyard was struck by lightning and burned in March 1897. It was subsequently rebuilt and expanded to include the buildings seen here. The river and the more populated areas of the town are visible in the distance. The only readily identifiable stone in this view of the cemetery is the second from the left. It bears the inscription "BRIGHT - Theophilus Bright – His Wife, Phebe Letts, 1847-1903 – Walter Bright, 1885-1887." The four white stones in the center of the photo have likely been lost or replaced with more modern stones.
August: South River Fire Department Clam Bake, circa 1898. This clam bake was held by the Fire Department on Miller's Field, now called Pacer's Field, located near the end of William Street. The ornate stove in the forefront of the photo would have been carried to the field for the event. In the background, an informal baseball game is taking place.
September: The Dinkey Track Tunnel Under Old Bridge Turnpike, 1912. The dinkey track tunnel was used by Miller's Brickyard, as well as other brickyards in South River, to transport clay from the area of the former Route 18 Flea Market and Sam's Club (now part of East Brunswick's "Golden Triangle") to the brick-making operations in South River.
October: Ferry Street, circa 1915. This postcard view shows Ferry Street looking from Main Street toward Jackson Street. On the corner at the left is the Grand Hotel. The ground floor included the Rothenburg Drug Store, a delicatessen/restaurant, and other shops. On the corner at the right is Greenfield's Dry Goods Store.
November: Yates Hall and Hotel, Jackson Street, June: 7, 1898. Yates Central Hall, owned by Samuel J. Yates, was the venue for many social and political events. Weddings, balls, political meetings and primaries, concerts, dances, vaudeville programs, and occasional Borough Council meetings all took place there. The building was later called The Wilus Hall, and is now the Portuguese Fisherman. The view is from what is now the parking lot of the Portuguese Fisherman on Ferry Street.
December: View of George Street, circa 1898. This view shows lower George Street looking toward Reid Street. The corner of Stephen Street (in the right forefront) is marked by a lamp post and a small wooden platform built over a ditch. In the background at the right, the American Hotel is just visible. 


Cover: The Robert Armstrong family, Mother and Dad with Fred and Toby, in Washington Monumental Cemetery, circa 1920.
January: Olive and George Brasno, 4 Center Street, circa 1930. George and Olive were noted worldwide for their performances in Vaudeville shows. They also appeared in movies such as Shrimps for a Day (Our Gang/Little Rascals) (1934), The Mighty Barnum (1934), Charlie Chan at the Circus (1936), and Little Miss Broadway (1938). -- Olive and George reportedly turned down roles in the Wizard of Oz because it paid less than they were making in Vaudeville at the time. -- Olive married Gus Wayne, who starred as "Little Johnny" in the Philip Morris cigarette advertisements, on October 29, 1960 at Corpus Christi Church.
February: Prospect Street, February 11, 1983. At left: Looking up Prospect Street after the February 1983 blizzard. Knoblock Auto is on the left and the Prospect Tavern (formerly Maklary's) is on the right. Below: Looking down Prospect Street toward the bend near Dailey's Pond. -- Ranked as a category 4 storm on the Northeast Snowfall Impact Scale (NESIS), the blizzard of February 1983 was described as "crippling" and is nicknamed the Great "Megalopolitan" Snowstorm. It dropped two feet of snow in some areas of New Jersey.
March: Inside Louis Maklary's Tavern, 183 Prospect Street, circa 1940. On display, behind the bar, is a large collection of handguns, rifles, knives, grenades, and shells. Other items of note are the portrait of Franklin Delano Roosevelt over the cash register and the stuffed pheasants over the doors at either end of the bar.
April: Grocery Store of Wilbur C. Rose, 11 Thomas Street, circa 1900. Pictured is Wilbur Rose in front of his store. An advertisement for Ben-Hur Flour is prominent in the window. The building still remains but is now a residence with a one-story addition on the front.
May: Kilns at the North American Pyrogranit Brick Works, May: 14, 1897. Located off the Old Bridge Turnpike and lower William Street, the factory produced both fire bricks (used to line furnaces, kilns, fireboxes, and fireplaces) and paving bricks. The pile of bricks in the center of the photo would have been taken from one or more of the four large kilns.
June: South River High School Graduation, Campbell Field, June: 12, 1947. The Class of 1947 was the first to have an outdoor graduation on Campbell Field. Seated on the left of the graduates is the South River High School Band; to the right is the Glee Club.
July: Wetzel's Ice Cream, Confectionery, and Tobacco Store, 83 Main Street, circa 1920. Pictured in front of the store are Julius Wetzel, in a white apron, and Anna Wetzel. The second man in the photo is unidentified.
August: South River Firemen's Jubilee, Main Street, August 26, 1961. The celebration included a parade and buildings all along Main Street were decorated. The dais was located in front of the First National Bank, today the PNC Bank.
September: George Radcliffe's Store, Main Street, June: 11, 1900. This store, located in the left half of the Perry building, was a grocery and cigar shop as well as a cycler's rest stop. The building was destroyed in the 1908 fire that decimated a large part of the downtown area. Today the site (30 Main Street) is the location of a bakery, a law office and a former tavern.
October: The Causeway, western end, circa 1900. The portion of the Causeway pictured is on the bend leading to the old South River Bridge. The flat-roofed building is Smalley & Sons; the small sign on the side of the building advertises "tinning and plumbing."
November: Residence of DeWitt C. Rose, Main Street, November 20, 1901. This home was located on Main Street near John Street. Rose was a boatman for most of his life and later served as South River's Overseer of the Poor.
December: Two views of P. M. Scislo's Shoe Shop, 32 Obert Street, circa 1930. Peter and Mary Scislo had a business on Main Street before opening the one pictured above. The 1919 city directory advertises "Expert Shoe Repairing, Work Done While You Wait, Shoe Shining in Connection, 20 Main." By 1921 Peter was treasurer of South River's White Eagle Shoe Manufacturing Company and by 1926 had moved his business to this building. The shoe repair shop was located in the basement. The building still exists on Obert Street. 


Cover: Sophie Szabo with her children, John and Steve, playing in front of their home on William Street, circa 1920. In later years the brothers operated a plumbing business in South River.
January: Ladies employed by the General Cigar Company, Inc., circa 1914. Ground was broken for the factory located at Russell and Water Streets on October 11, 1912 and it opened in 1913. Prior to that time, the stripping department and manufactory occupied floors in two other buildings in the borough. The plant employed many women and girls from South River and the surrounding areas. It closed in 1948.
February: Meeting of the ladies from the International Ladies Garment Workers Union, circa 1950. The walls are lined with photographs showing the social activities of the members of the ILGWU in this image taken upstairs in the union hall located on the corner of Thomas and Main Streets. Banners for Locals 150 and 157 also decorate the walls. Mr. Bauman, seated to the right at the back table, was the union president.
March: Dr. and Mrs. Melvin M. Hunt's home and office, 140 Jackson Street, circa 1933. Pictured at their home are Dr. and Mrs. Melvin Hunt with their sons, Douglas and Melvin. A small sign next to the door points the way to the entrance to the medical office at the side of the house. Dr. Hunt practiced in South River for more than 50 years. He died in 1967.
April: Hungarian Reformed Church Sunday School, circa 1920. Located on Thomas Street, the Hungarian Reformed Church changed its name in 1966 and became known as the First Reformed Church of South River. This large Sunday School class posed at the front stairs which, at that time, led down in the direction of the parsonage next door. Today the steps are wide and extend down to the sidewalk.
May: South River High School Band, early 1930s. In 1932 a new musical organization, the band, was instituted at the high school under the direction of Edward Price. Other musical activities included the orchestra and both girls and boys glee clubs. The band is pictured here in front of the South River High School, which was located on Thomas Street at the time. The logo on the drum in the forefront belongs to Rotary International, a service organization, likely a sponsor for the band. The local branch of the organization was the South River Rotary Club, initially created in 1930. In 1967 it was rechartered as the South River/East Brunswick Rotary Club.
June: Mrs. Fuller's third grade class, Campbell School, 1968-69. Pictured in the Indian play from left to right are – Back row: Janet Knudson, Donna Reuter, Karen Grompone, Kathy Froud, Linda Perry Middle row: Lisa Siata, Marlene Tomaro, Susanne Delespie, Maureen Keany, Carol Hess Sitting: Cathy DeVoe, Susan Dane, Linda Hagerty, Sandy Bito, Leslie Servon, Laura Reo.
July: Sand Beach on the River in South River, circa 1940. This is the only sand beach left on the river in South River. Located off Whitehead Avenue behind Bissett's Pond in Grekoski Park, the beach is fast eroding from nearby drainage.
August: South River Trust Company, Main Street, circa 1930. Completed in 1920 for the South River Trust Company, this building saw service as a bank until 2012 when it closed after flooding during Hurricane Sandy. It was, at that time, the location of the South River branch of the Bank of America. The building's limestone pilasters, Ionic columns, wrought iron window grills, and the limestone wreath surrounding the clock look much the same today as they did when the postcard was printed. The trolley rails in the foreground and the sign encouraging passers-by to "Eat at the Palace Diner" hint at a bygone era.
September: Remnants of a dock on the river, circa 1940. This stark portrait shows some of the last vestiges of the docks which were used to ship bricks and farm produce from South River to ports in New York and surrounding areas.
October: South River Fireman, circa 1930. Members of the South River Fire Department are pictured here in front of the George Street firehouse. The building was designed by Alexander Merchant and replaced the previous Fire Department quarters in the Borough Hall building on Main Street in 1924.
November: Upstairs inside the Borough hall, 1964. Clerk Mary Chando and custodian Jim Madalino are shown here hanging portraits of the South River May:ors. Mr. Madalino was an usher and projectionist at the Capitol Theatre prior to becoming custodian at the Borough Hall. The portraits were restored in 2005 and currently hang in the municipal building at 48 Washington Street.
December: Central Pool Parlor, Ferry Street, 1916. Pictured here shooting pool is Frank Shamy, Sr., proprietor of the pool hall. In the foreground on the left is his opponent, identified only as "the Big Russian." The other men in the photo are unidentified. George Shoup managed the business for Shamy. 


Cover: Maurice Glickman's Construction, a wooden relief sculpture created in 1943, graces the wall above the door to the South River Postmaster's Office. The artwork depicts six construction workers and was created as part of the Federal Art Project.
January: Interboro Transportation Company Truck, circa 1935. Oreon Thoburn is the driver of this truck pictured on Thomas Street near Main Street. The truck was used to transport coal from Pennsylvania to 2 Thomas Street where Walter Weishaupt had a coal business. Many people in South River heated with coal during this time period. Weishaupt's business was located on the property now occupied by the building and parking lot entrance for Dunkin' Donuts.
February: Views of the Banks of the South River, 1964. These views, taken from behind Causeway Ice Cream (then a Dairy Queen), show the riverbank at low tide. The Shell gas station, the old Martin-Brown house, the Veteran's gas station, and the recently replaced pumping station are in the background of the photograph on the left. St. Mary's church is also visible over the roofs of the other buildings. -- The photograph at the right shows a close up view of the old barge and the small boat that are visible in the distance in the photograph above. The Laffin building can also be seen farther along the river.
March: South River High School Model Airplane Club, circa 1935. A gasoline-powered model airplane constructed by the members of the S.R.H.S.M.A.C. is shown here behind 140 Jackson Street. It reproduced all of the details and specifications of a regular-size plane. -- The plane was entered in the Eastern States Model Airplane meet at Hadley Airport. The second view shows some of the model planes that were brought to the meet along with some of the many people who came to view them. -- The South River High School Model Airplane Club was composed of 14 active members, all students at the school. Harry Froude was the faculty advisor, Joseph Doeler the president, and John Czakowski the secretary.
April: Bill Bruhn in Front of Heinz FoodMarket, 273 Main Street, Circa 1940. In the 1930s, Charles Miller operated a food market on this site (see the 2005 calendar). In the 1940s, a new building was erected with the two storefronts seen here. The store on the left was the Heinz FoodMarket and the store on the right was Josephine Angersbach's bakery shop. In later years the food market became Dittman's Market and the bakery moved around the corner and became Hilltop Sweets. The "Pastries" sign remained. -- Dittman's Market, 273 Main Street, 1982. As the years passed, Dittman's Market expanded to sell meats, groceries, freezer orders, and commercial supplies, and occupied the entire first floor of the building.
May: Memorial Day Parade, Whitehead Avenue, circa 1940. This series of photographs was taken on Whitehead Avenue as the parade headed toward Main Street. Pictured from left to right are – Top row: John Mrozek with the tower of the former Herrmann, Aukam, and Company factory in the background, Uncle Sam in front of the Tigers club, and John Bosko on his horse; Middle row: a Mummers band and a truck Cover:ed in bunting pulling a float with the title "When Johnny Comes Marching Home"; Bottom row: the American Legion Ladies Auxiliary and a troop of South River Girl Scouts including, Diane Welsh, Louise MacFarlane, Rita Barglowski, Ruth Mrozek, and Sheila Eppinger.
June: Willett School Eighth Grade Band, March 1949. Pictured in the Willett School music room, from left to right are: Top row: Bob Silvanovich, Richard Perosa, Robert Pache, Irene Mucken, Rose Marie Farnan, Eleanor Beecher, Edmund Brodkin, Joe Zerman, Elmer Day, John Tekowitz, Carl Nemeth, and the band director, J.E. Powers. Bottom row: Florence Ferro, Jackie York, Janet Weischadle, Michael Marek, Elaine Schulman, Louise MacFarlane, Jackie Dincuff, and Barbara Eskin.
July: South River Firemen's Boat Races on the Banks of the South River, 1926. The roof of Nielsen's gas station on Water Street was the platform for the photographer when this picture was taken. Thousands of spectators lined the waterfront to watch the competitions. -- The event was organized by Engine Company Number One of the borough fire department. Fifteen boats were entered, but only eleven of them ran as four developed engine trouble. The original plan was for five races, but the schedule was altered so that only three races were run. The first and second races were for three miles and the third was for five miles. A one mile canoe race was added. -- William Matts was fire chief, and the program committee was composed of Henry Meisner, chairman, George Myers, George Freeman, and William Rackenback.
August: Dailey's Pond, Prospect and Ziegert Streets, circa 1970. Pictured here is Dailey's Pond as viewed from Prospect Street before the gazebo and monument were built. It was, for many years, a popular swimming and ice skating area enjoyed by all ages. Notice the sand beach to the right.
September: Detail from the R. Van Dyke Reid Map of Washington (South River), 1851. The oldest known map of South River was surveyed and drawn in March 1851 by 17 year old Richard Van Dyke Reid. It includes streets, buildings, properties, and the locations of businesses such as the ship yard of Nicholas Booraem. -- The Baptist Church, now the South River Museum, and the district school are both identified in the lower left on this section of the map. The complete original map is on display at the museum. -- The inset is a photograph of R. Van Dyke Reid taken in New Brunswick in 1897.
October: Imperial Chorus, 1978. Pictured at the Imperial Music Center is Theofil "Ted" Kadela and the Imperial Chorus following their return from a successful concert tour of Poland. The chorus was formed in 1968 and the Music Center opened in 1970.
November: View from Washington Monumental Cemetery, circa 1940. Washington Monumental Cemetery is the setting for this view overlooking South River. The houses on Paul Avenue and the surrounding streets are visible just beyond the cemetery, with Willett School and St. Mary's Church in the background, and the river in the distance.
December: Winter View of Main Street, circa 1958. This view of a tree-lined Main Street was taken from lower Main Street looking up toward the intersection at Jackson Street. In the background is the Tabernacle Baptist Church which was dedicated in 1908, replaced with a more modern building in 1960, and torn down in 1998. 


Cover: This chandelier was donated to Capitol Theatre by the business people of South River. When the theater closed in 1968, the chandelier was moved to the Imperial Music Center on Appleby Avenue where it still hangs.
January: Walter W. Schack Being Sworn in as May:or, January 1, 1954. Walter W. Schack was sworn in as May:or of South River by George Bowen, Borough Clerk. Holding the bible is May:or Schack's mother, Mary Schack Sosnowski. Schack was May:or from January 1, 1954 until December 31, 1959.
February: Tabernacle Baptist Church and Congregation, circa 1920. Members of the Tabernacle Baptist Church are pictured in front of the church building located on the corner of Main and Jackson Streets. The brick building, dedicated in 1908, replaced an earlier wooden structure, and was itself torn down in 1998. The lot remains empty. -- During the pastorate of Reverend Donald K. Balfour, a new sanctuary was built directly across the street and dedicated in 1960. Balfour served as pastor from 1952 until 1985.
March: Delta-Pi Bowling Team, 1940-41. The Delta-Pi Sports Club was located on Whitehead Avenue near the railroad tracks in a section commonly known as "the Alley." Prior to World War II the club sponsored teams in many sports. After the war ended the club ceased all sports activities. -- Pictured left to right: Front row: Steve Nowicki, Joe Kutowski, Joe Maklary, Andy Sitze, Mike Sack Back row: Steve Senko, Ed Nachtman, Andy Sivess, Walter Sitze, Ed Reckage.
April: South River High School Band, 1946-47. The band is pictured in the parking lot of the South River High School on Thomas Street. The first South River High School band was organized in 1932 under the direction of Mr. Edward Price.
May: South River Exempt Firemen and Auxiliary, May: 30, 1930. The pavilion at Schack's Park, located adjacent to Schack's Hall (now the Ria Mar), was the setting for this photograph taken on Memorial Day, May: 30, 1930. Charles Schroeder was Fire Chief at the time.
June: Willett School Carnival, June: 1972. Doris Wenger, Willett School kindergarten teacher, is seen at left with other visitors to the carnival. Games, rides, food, and sale items were the highlights of the day. -- Each elementary school in South River – Lincoln, Willett, and Campbell – had an annual carnival on the playground to mark the end of the school year in June:.
July: The Anna May: on the South River, circa 1910. Built in South River by Gustav Bartz and named for his eldest daughter, the launch could reach a speed of 10 miles per hour. It was used for pleasure trips including an occasional Sunday school outing. The motor boat sank twice while docked and was raised both times. -- The Anna May: is seen above at the Booraem Brothers shipyard. A pair of two-masted schooners at dock are visible in the background. In the lower photograph, the location of the shipyard is again marked by the presence of a two-masted ship.
August: South River Firemen's Jubilee on Main Street, August 26, 1961. A large group gathered in front of Terker's Department Store, next to the police station on Main Street, to view the parade for the Firemen's Jubilee. The dais for the event was located in front of what was then the First National Bank (now PNC), and all the buildings on Main Street were decorated for the occasion.
September: Armstrong's Garage and Supply Company, circa 1919. Located on Main Street, the Armstrong company sold new and restored bicycles as well as supplies for Ford automobiles. The sign in the window reads " Buy a Bicycle. The handsome new 1919 models are in. Come in and look them over." Alfred Armstrong is in the middle of the group of three men.
October: Riding in the "Zip" on Main Street, 1915. Al Luker and James "Jimmy" Armstrong are seen on Main Street in front of Van Tyne's photography studio. The Simplex corporation produced a Zip, but the automobile seen here is likely Armstrong's home-made version.
November: South River High School Cheerleaders, circa 1935. Pictured in mid-air are four SRHS cheerleaders; from left to right, Joyce Long, Woodis Booraem, Norma Burky (later Kluy), and Walter Kulik, who later became May:or. The view is from the property where the rescue squad is currently located, looking toward the intersection of Thomas Street and George Street. In the background – the building on the left has survived to present day; the house on the right, at one time owned by the Weingartens, was torn down and replaced with a parking lot.
December: The First South River High School Girls Basketball Team, 1912-13. The 1912-1913 season was the first time that South River High School had a girls basketball team. It was coached by Professor Clancy. The first game was played and won on December 21, 1912 against New Brunswick. During the course of the season, they played six games without being defeated, although the game in Woodbridge resulted in a tie. -- Unnamed in the photograph, the main players included Marion Anderson, team captain, Helen Barkelew, Gertrude Marks, Gussie Fee, and Edith Miller. Misses Lemerick, Smith, and Geiger were substitute players. 


Cover: [Image from numbered limited edition print of the Old School Baptist Church, by Joseph Csatari]
January: The Willett School Orchestra, 1931. The orchestra was under the direction of Miss Frieda Lawrence, shown seated in the middle of the group. A 1929 graduate of the New Jersey College for Women, she taught eighth grade music at Willett School. Miss Lawrence married attorney Michael Schulman in 1935. She taught music for 24 years, second grade for two years, and then joined the language department at the high school where she worked for 35 years. Frieda taught both Latin and German and became chair of the language department.
February: 1963-64 South River High School Basketball starting players: #21 Matt Jacukiewicz, #35 Tom Lewinski, #11 John Chrzan (Captain), #25 Dave Kornacki, Coach John Fitzpatrick and #41 Rich Kuberski. This photograph appeared in the December 13, 1963 issue of the Daily Home News.
March: South River charity basketball game between the WABC-TV basketball team and the faculties of the junior high and high school. The fundraiser was for "One to One," a charity for the learning disabled. It was held in March 1975. Featured in this photograph: 1. Andrew Sleboda, 2. Bill Csatari, 3. Ralph Caretta, 4. Anthony Tirrell, 5. Geraldo Rivera, 6. Tony Pratola 7. Ray Ruiz, 8. Tony Razzano, 9. Douglas Alexander, 10. ?, 11. Joyce Kucyn, 12. John Hutchison, 13. Don Fadden, 14. Phil Meltzer 15. ?,16. Rosemarie Kiser, 17. Leigh Russ, 18. Howard Grush, 19. Michael Renner, 20. Ron Grygo, 21. Jan Hutchison, 22. John Fuehrer, 23. ?, 24. Joe Lobby.
April: Opening Day South River Little League, April 2007. The field house was renamed after Bill Lane for his years of service and dedication to South River Little League. Top left: Bill Lane throws the first pitch. Top right: The Lane family prepares for the ceremony. Bottom: Wally Rondesko, Bill Lane, and Fred Roselli pose with the new field house sign.
May: Zigmond Biernacki and his dog on Mageira Street, circa 1933.
June: The David Armstrong homestead on Whitehead Avenue, August 1898. Standing at the gate is Mary Armstrong holding baby George "Dewey" Armstrong. Three year old Harold Armstrong Sr. is standing next to her. The Armstrong homestead was located where the Ria Mar restaurant is today.
July: Leopold Ring's Grocery Store on William Street, circa 1906-1911.
August: Jean Armstrong Selover (the co-author of the "History of South River") in the hammock next to her bicycle in backyard of the Armstrong homestead on Whitehead Avenue. The photograph was taken in August 1898.
September: The South River 9/11 Memorial, located in Dailey's Pond Park, was dedicated to those in uniformed service and all those who died on September: 11, 2001 — including South River resident, 32 year old, Christopher M. Dincuff. He was a commodities trader for Carr Futures on the 92nd floor in the north tower of the World Trade Center. He was one of 69 Carr Futures employees who died on 9/11. The monument was designed by Blaise Batko and dedicated on September 11, 2003.
Bottom: Local officials and clergy in attendance: Deputy Chief John Bouthillette, Councilwoman Joanne Dembinski, Chief Wesley Bomba, Councilman David Sliker, Councilman John Trzeciak, Assemblywoman Barbara Buono, Reverend David Garretson, Freeholder Christopher Rafano, Councilman Tony Razzano, May:or Robert Szegeti, Vocalist Elena Chalcraft
October: 1984 South River Bill Denny Scholarship Dinner (left to right) Scholar Athlete Tom Fritz, Franks Burns, Bill Csatari, Scholar Athlete Dave Kosa, Jimmy McDougal, and Joe Csatari.
November: May:or Charles Mannino with a local boy and Drew Pearson. The photograph was taken during Mannino's term, 1976 to 1979.
December: Corpus Christi Christmas Concert, 1970 


January: South River Grammar School 8th Grade Class of 1920. The South River Grammar School basketball team defeated the South River High School Freshman to win the Junior Championship of the borough in April 1920. The five seated students holding the "Champs" pennant are likely members of the winning team, Fee, Sokolowski, Brogar, Anklowitz, and Armstrong.
February: 1975 South River Junior High School teachers. Top row: Brenda Knickerbocker, Barbara Peterson, Judy Ward, Mary Ann Pawlowski Bottom row: Joan Lennon, Joyce Kucyn, Katherine Bitow, Laurie Strausberg.
March: South River 1920 200th Anniversary planning committee.
April: Debbie Parson’s South River Elementary School third grade class circa early 2000s.
May: Former South River Mayor James B. Armstrong and Hall of Famer Monte Irvin at Al Lang Field, St. Petersburg, Florida in the early 1950s.
June: Campbell School Flag Day celebration in 1993.
July: The Welcome arch on Jackson Street for South River's 200th Anniversary celebration in September, 1920. The first place float from the anniversary parade on September 24 is shown at the left. The plane was “flown” by Raymond D. Booraem Jr., Warren Booraem, and Elizabeth Bissett.
August: Evie Bissett, crowned Queen Riverie for South River’s 200th Anniversary celebration, with Taryn Thomas, the queen from the 250th Anniversary celebration in 1970. Bottom left photo: Queen Riverie and her court on the parade float in 1920.
September: The South River 275th Anniversary celebration on October 22, 1995. Top left: Jonathan and Jennifer Grimm represent fourth generation of South River and lead the parade with the 275th banner. Top right: The Portuguese community proudly marches in the parade route. Bottom left: Members of the South River High School Band participate in the parade. Bottom right: Members of the 275th Anniversary committee pose for an end of the day photo.
October: The First South River Football Team formed in 1919. First row (left to right) - John Schemick, Phil Nassiff (Nasser), Stogehill Lesh (Stongdell), Ben Stachowski, Victor Hammerschlag, John Lakatos, Walter Smith and Earl Nodine. Back row (left to right) - Principal William A. Bryan, Paul Schack, George Applegate, James Fee, Herman Ringle, Jake Anklowitz, Joseph Mark, Joseph Sokolowski and Superintendent William S. Lesh.
November: The South River time capsule, originally buried in front of the borough hall during the 250th Anniversary celebration in 1970, being reburied in front of the Old School Baptist Church -- South River Museum on November 8, 2013. Pictured with two unidentified borough employees are, from left to right: Ann Rafano, Donna Jones, Woodis Booraem, Peter Guindi, and Officer John Casey. Top right: The plaque on the time capsule. Bottom right: The plaque covering the buried time capsule.
December: Employees of the American Enameled Brick & Tile Company posed for a picture in front of their float for the 1920 anniversary parade. The float included a replica of one of the company's distinctive kilns. During the parade the men on the float demonstrated the process of making bricks and distributed small souvenir bricks to spectators.